No easy road

in #photography6 years ago


Do you ever notice how some products say this will make your skin or hair look healthy? Looking healthy doesn’t always mean being healthy. It almost seems these days we are taught to apply layers and filters to pamper us into looking like we are indeed in good health when in reality it is actually far from the truth. We can ignore the issues as long as we are able to smear a mask on top and hide the ugly reality.

When I was younger I did not understand why my grandmother was always worried about the cold or wind. She always said watch out or you will have issues when you get older. No one listens at the young age as our bodies are capable of fixing the damage a lot better then. We still suffer the damage though and when we get older our bodies lose a lot of that capability to take care of it.

We are not invincible. Issues arise at some point for all and it is really sad to witness how some give up completely when it happens to them. Saying someday they will work with it. However sometimes that someday never arrives for them as they slowly let go of themselves while munching on the very same poison that is killing them.  

Of course it is not just our meatsack bodies that determine whether we are healthy or not. Our mental health plays a huge role in it and yet we still neglect it or avoid working on it. We often brush it off and hope that it will work itself out, but it never does. Our minds are wired in every cell of our bodies. Impacting them directly even when we are not noticing the processes in the background. Sometimes years can go by and we are still experiencing ripple effect in our health from the issues and trauma never addressed, stored and blocked in our system. Simply because we did not know how to deal with them properly on our own or ignored them.  

So do you really want to be healthy? Or, just to appear to be healthy? Sadly appearing part usually is a lot easier.





Song of the day: Gorgon City, Kamille, Ghosted, Zeds Dead - Go Deep Zeds Dead Remix

Sort:  

It would be nice to feel healthy, to feel as light as I used to be some six, seven years ago. I think as youths we get this feeling of being super human, lime we could live forever and when we start slowing down we rarely take note, pinning it on stress, time, sleep and all that. Most times, our efforts while younger are at work.

I quit smoking and drinking irreverently not because I was having any complications but because I realised that my body was no longer as strong as it used to be and needed more carefully than I used to give it. Hopefully I get to live long eh

I think as we age the lack of energy is indication how much more your body struggles with the repairs. We need to boost ourselves, replenish and help our bodies to heal, instead of feeding it crap and have wishful thinking about someday.

I remember as a young kid watching my grandfather smoke so much I thought why would I damage my body? There are so many other things we can't control that damage us. Why would I do it on purpose too?

Way too many worry about the appearance while still feeling crap. It is kind of like the idea of 'black is slimming'. If you aren't happy being the size you are, do something about it, don't just continually attempt to hide it away under clothes. The longer we let ourselves rust, the harder we are to salvage.

The issue probably is the stupid idea of inconvenience. It does take effort, time and resources to take good care of oneself.

Healthy food and products cost a lot more. That is why so many people go for crap, because it's cheap and affordable :( Sometimes people simply have no other choice, but there are also those who do it either way even tho they could afford it.

There was this jujitsu trainer who said something brilliant. It stuck with me make time for fitness or make time for sickness.

I needed to hear this message, almost feels like you're talking to me

Issues arise at some point for all and it is really sad to witness how some give up completely when it happens to them.

This in particular

I want to also thank you for the post I saw on my post yesterday, it means a lot. Thank you

I am glad you found this message useful :)

I am struggling as well with my joints, specially knees which is very worrying for my future mobility, but I am not giving up.

You are very welcome empress! Keep up the good work ^^

Hi m31. That is why they say healthy body,healthy mind.

Yet here we are oftentimes having neither. What is it? Entertaining, pleasing ourselves to death?

cuddle_serenade.png

Good health is necessary to carry out our daily tasks. However, health is not only about alleviating and being free from physical aspects of health. It also means being healthy mentally too. There are no easy roads in life but we must learn to cope up with it.

Hi @m31!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.286 which ranks you at #764 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 766).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 253 contributions, your post is ranked at #23.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 32.09% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @m31!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for our witness through SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses

Hi you ^-^ .. It's sooo good to be back... My PC died, or well, my RAM did... Only got back online yesterday, after almost a week! An eternity in internetz time! ;P

This is another post that makes me really feel my guilt in not having taken care of my body recently. I sit way too much. As healthy as I feel my mind is, and as much as it does play a part in keeping one healthy, it certainly won't be enough if I don't start doing some sort of physical exercise.

Something else is of course, eating habits. I eat well, so at least I have that too. A few weeks ago I was teaching a woman of about 25 years and food was the subject. She mentioned that she didn't eat any vegetables... O.O ... I couldn't believe it. She "doesn't like them"... I mean, all vegetables? How can one not like all vegetables.

She is a beautiful girl with good skin, but I warned her that after 30-35, her lack of vegetable consumption will really start to takes its toll on her.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62952.44
ETH 2542.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65