Bluebells

in #photography5 years ago (edited)


Warmth finally arrives in Northern Ireland. The shift happened last week in the middle. I could sense it happening as I walked my usual two kilometers up the hill to my workplace every day. All of a sudden everything is brighter in colors. Trees are greener, flowers are blooming and the dark brown, usually gloomy sea is turning blue and appears more friendly. I kept thinking of how badly I miss untouched nature and about my need to get away from human beings and screens even if for a few hours.  

So off to the forest I went. The best timing as it turned out. Forest was full of fairy enchantments and bird songs. It was wonderful to close my eyes, to hear how joyful they sounded and to take some energy from the trees all around me. Being close to nature is essential to me. I will trade in perfectly mowed lawns and paved pathways for dirt roads further away from the civilization any time. Fairies didn’t have to lure me deeper into the forest at all. I went willingly.


What are these aliens? Ferns are waking up and slowly losing their brown, fur winter coats.



What’s happening here? Everything’s blue. This is where the fairies are having their gathering, but close your human ears. If a human hears bluebells ringing, the death will soon pay them a visit. As I said before, they did not have to lure me. However, I was absolutely compelled to look at the endless fields of the bright blue on every step and I could feel my cheeks finally forming a bit of a smile. Definitely, some strange fairy magic going on!


Bluebells or Hyacinthoides non-scripta metamorph the woodlands into carpets of blue as soon as it gets warmer and more sunlight reaches the soil at the springtime. While they provide bees, bumblebees, and butterflies with delicious nectar as a food source, they are quite poisonous to humans and animals if consumed. At the same time, it was interesting to read as I wrote this post that back in the old days they were used in the traditional medicine for conditions such as leprosy. In a way, it makes sense since sometimes even nowadays treatment for various, deadly illnesses is a controlled dose of poison.




The more I found out about the somewhat dark folklore about Bluebells, the more I wonder. Perhaps, people got lost not because of fairies, but because they consumed them and died? Or, the stories were to keep people away from these beautiful yet poisonous plants? They say there is some truth in all old tales.


Sources: Bluebells; Bluebell folklore and traditions
Song of the day: Krewella - Alive

Sort:  

Nice photos, especially the weird alien ferns. I don't think I've ever seen them in that stage. It already looks lush and green out there, too!

Thank you @fotosdenada! Yes, me neither. Well at least I had not seen any at this strange stage before. Should spend more time in forest, who knows what else interesting we can witness, hehe. It is really green now. It turns greener every day ^^

There is so much beauty and coolness in this post! These photos are magical and I learned some things. I did not know that ferns had winter coats, and I also did not know bluebells were poisonous. The thing you said about medicine is kinda interesting. First thing that comes to mind is chemotherapy for cancer... it's quite literally poison. We like to talk about how we have made so many medical advances and we have, but a lot of it is still kinda barbaric if you think about it. We still poison people to try to save them. We still harvest organs from the dead and stick them into living people, then give them drugs to disable their immune systems. We prescribe drugs for depression that occasionally make someone kill themselves. If you look at it from an alien's perspective, it all probably looks like we have no idea what we are doing.

I love how you write about the fairies and their magic, luring people, having their gathering... and the danger of bluebells ringing... some people might scoff at such things, but I believe life is far more beautiful and interesting with magic in it. Thanks for sharing some of yours ^_^

Aaah! Thank you lem! I am really glad you enjoyed it ^^

I was as surprised about bluebells. I think we have similar flowers in Latvia, but they bloom at the end of June and their scent is a lot stronger. They are white and also poisonous.

I think we consume quite a bit of poison all the time. Sometimes we are just unaware. When it comes to medicine, I only recently realized that most of it is actually poison in small doses, mixed together to kill whatever bug, virus or illness we have caught. Rarely it is something that make us stronger, improve our immune system and resistance.

This quote comes to mind..

“You know what the issue is with this world? Everyone wants some magical solution to their problem and everyone refuses to believe in magic.” ― Lewis Carroll

Wow the place looks amazing. I only know yellow bells from some trees around here. Those blue bells look good too. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for sharing. I love plants and tree photos.

Green Forest and a touch of Blue bells...certainly makes the place a heaven....

Posted using Partiko Android

I love the curly ferns! would love to make a time lapse of them opening!

Great shots and a lovely location. I've been meaning to visit NI for some time and hike the Mourne. On a super clear day we can see them across the sea from Snowdonia

Thank you for sharing your walk with us. I also enjoyed the accompanying photos.

I like bluebells. Must have missed something as had no clue you were in Northern Ireland now. What about your little vegetable garden, who is looking after that now. Have you found any hedgehogs yet?

I found the bright blue so joyful. Yes, I've been here since last October ^^'

My mom and bother are taking care of it and sending updates. It is in good hands, but I am planning to return around July. Can't wait to fight some wild weeds by then haha!

Haven't seen any hedgehogs unfortunately. Only seagulls.

Great photos. Yesterday was the warmest Easter Monday on record for Northern Ireland

Thank you @maxbullion! :) It was indeed. I was actually hiking Murlough Nature Reserve on Monday and it was a fantastic day. Can't believe I did not burn red as a lobster as I forgot to put some sunscreen on! Bluebells were from Easter Sunday.

2nd last is my fave tonight. I am looking forward to the green to arrive because at the moment, Finland is a dust bowl and it is killing my eyes, nose and throat. Won't be long though as the weather hit 19 degrees today :)

Not sure if there are bluebells in Finland but there are blue flowers. :D

Hopefully soon. I can't believe it is May soon already.

We have similar blue flowers. We call them bluebells too. They are a lot smaller though.

I've noticed a pattern of colors. White, blue, yellow when it comes to some wild flowers. At least in Latvia.

Take some pictures! ;)

I was planning to get out with the camera tonight but, there were other plans :)

I have some flowers inside that @smallsteps picked for me, I might snap some pictures of those :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59201.08
ETH 2515.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50