It's Iceberg Season Again in Our Backyard

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I've been holding off showing you these tragic photos #SteemFam, as I know you all do a collective brrrrrrrrrrr seeing our little ocean cove this way. Grab some warm socks and a cup of something hot (preferably with alcohol) and let's do this thing.

IMG_1354.JPG

The boys are getting older now so I let them play with the icebergs a bit, by the shore. Like, wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy by the shore. Our cove isn't that deep, especially at low tide, however it's always better to be safe than sorry when playing with Mother Nature, you must have respect.

IMG_1345.JPG

The top layer of the water freezes as the tide is up and as it goes down the ice breaks up. It's a twice daily cycle.

IMG_1348.JPG

Look Out He-Man

It's Keed-Man! He doesn't even wear gloves when lifting icebergs, this guy is savage and he's only 8 years old. (Seriously though, the children are also old enough that I only try one or two times now, to get them to put gloves on before I give up. It's just not worth the energy anymore.)

IMG_1351.JPG

Today's Treasures

Mid afternoon a glorious mist rolled into the cove, almost high tide...

IMG_1541.JPG

IMG_1543.JPG

Screen Shot 2018-12-29 at 9.54.14 PM.png

I hope you stayed warm through our little journey in the icy cove. It's beautiful and rainy out tonight, though it has no chance of melting all those bergs. What's your backyard like right now #SteemFam? I'll see you in the comments!

IMG_1545.JPG

Sort:  

so beautiful the way you show this cove to us..i really love the glorious mist pictures! ..i feel like i'm standing right there..in "todays treasures" the reflection in the water of the sky and the houses looks so neat..those boys are brave without gloves on handling the ice too

Kim!! YAY! So great to read a comment from you here <3 <3 <3 I'm glad you liked the shots, probably best to enjoy our cove from a distance right now <3 <3 <3 I'll be looking forward to lighting a candle with you later this month! xoxoxoxoxox

BRRR indeed but what FABULOUS photos. It’s a magical land at any time of year but this is truly breathtaking Cats on laps are great leg warmers I find for these cooler days ❤️🦋🌈🍀🌴

Thanks for visiting us SallyBeth <3<3<3 Sending hugs! Happy New Year to you and your family <3 <3 <3

Shucks, no ice fishing in the cove eh? One of the things I loved about lakes was the fishing (Beer) and sledding during winter. Happy new year.

No ice fishing haha, and just a few blocks up the road the water isn't frozen, we're just in such a shallow cove that it freezes up. I have lived the majority of my life in really really cold places. I know all about ice fishing, cabins that you walk through waist deep snow to get to...8 months straight of seeing snow on the ground. NS is a paradise compared to that. I'd never go back. Warmer though... I could definitely do warmer!

I miss beer though. lol.

What the heck? How cool is this. Something we would never see here in Sheffield, UK. What great fun, my kids would LOVE this!! Your boys look to be having a fine old time, and yes WHO NEEDS GLOVES?! It was 11 degrees here and foggy, so we went for a country stroll. Good day to you and hope the rum is at hand to warm you up lol.

Your children would love it, you .. maybe not so much lol. I'd bring a thermos of very strong coffee down for us Mums.

Great picture with the mist.. :)
Great to see people having fun without technology :)

Posted using Partiko Android

He doesn't even wear gloves when lifting icebergs, this guy is savage and he's only 8 years old.

Damn, he is hard core! I imagine the chickens are, too, hanging out with icebergs. Do the chicks come out like this?

fd234b55ebd45869be71baa40ed9c498--angry-animals-to-cute.jpg

Omg that pic is priceless <3<3<3 You always find the gems to tickle me funny bone. I have taken a lot of photos of baby chicks and never, have I ever ... What is that? hahahaaa a penguin baby? *giggling so much

Ok, so there was this one time, that Eddie was chasing around Hercules...and uh... Herc went out onto the shore, and then Ed tried to get him back to the forest, and Herc went out onto an ice berg.

It ended 2 hours later with B's soaking boots, frozen hands, and Herc back safe with his babes.

It is from the hardcoreis badassicus species. ;)

OMG poor Herc, and poor B! LOL. Chicken adventures!!

Posted using Partiko Android

This post is missing something but I can't quite put my finger on it... Oh! I know what!!
Untitled.gif

YASSSSS Plzzzzzzzzzz MOAR CAT BELL!!!!!

IMG_1473.JPG

You betcha!

THE GRAYSON SHOW.png

Yikes. Thankfully we haven't gotten much snow yet here. But I already miss sunny Arizona. Looking at the pics brought back memories of my childhood of finally going back inside and the feeling of thousands of needles in my feet as they slowly thawed out. Yeah, that eight year old of yours is craaaaaaazy out there without the gloves picking up large chunks of ice. Notice he had his hoodie off too, lol.

I still haven't learned to wear gloves either, we're late bloomers I guess :) You're right though, nothing like the feeling of warmth after being frozen. Arizona is sounding nice right bout now too...

Great to see you @practicalthought! Thanks for visiting our little frozen corner of the world.

Awesome I love when the ice pops up like square plates. Looks so funny. When did you do this photo op?

Boys last week, misty photos this afternoon.

Hey Steem Mama!! ❤ Looks like the boys are having fun! And, winter has set in at your house. We actually have a pile of snow around here but it was 6°C today! It was a gorgeous sunnyish day. Stay warm out there and enjoy your hot toddy ❄☃️❄

Woot woot + 6 !! You guys are getting chinooks again this year, Billie said last year there weren't any.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64725.57
ETH 3184.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54