रामराम #1 : Bruce Gilden - Face

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

रामराम #1

रामराम #1 (1).png

line-svg-border.png

Bruce Gilden - Face

Bruce-Gilden.jpeg

Bruce Gilden

Who is Bruce Gilden?

Bruce Gilden, born in 1946, is an iconic American street photographer. He is best known for his close-up work with people in the streets, where he comes up to them and take surprise photos of them using a flashgun. Most of his work is in black and white. Bruce has a wide range of projects which are available to view on his website https://www.brucegilden.com/, but his most famous and noteworthy work is his 'Face' project.

Here is an example of the kind of photographs in 'Face':

NN11384034.jpg

Face

'I need people to photograph who have been bruised by life, and a lot of people have been bruised by life. You don't have to be embarrassed to be bruised by life. I mean, I made a lot of mistakes in my life. And that's the trick in photography; you put who you are in the photograph, okay? Most people haven't lived a life. I almost died on drugs, my father was a gangster, they used to have fights, my mother was an alcoholic, committed suicide. I mean, I had a life, okay? My guts are in those pictures. That's why my portraits are really strong.'

From what can be seen in Bruce's photographs, he is an admirer of the outcasts of society - those on the sidelines - especially in this project. He sees beauty in all and doesn't fail to bring that beauty - be it a woman's one single tooth and lipstick on her forehead or someone's oversized nose - to the forefront.

Face

bg.png

Buy Here

line.png

If you enjoyed this post, you might also enjoy reading yesterday's रामराम!

Follow me on Instagram

sm_5aeee1cb35919.png

490b950ad43a13d69a744c830aa622f3-triangle-folds-line-border-by-vexels.png

रामराम

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86