HOW TO MAKE HOMEMADE SOAP!!!

in #photography6 years ago

It is FUN to make Homemade Soap!

IMG-20180218-WA0000 (1).jpg

Safety 1st:

  1. Vinegar in a spray bottle – I use this if I get some raw lye on my skin and the vinegar makes the lye inactive so it doesn’t burn your skin.
  2. Rubber gloves
  3. Goggles
  4. Long sleeves – I choose this to minimize the chance of any splash getting onto my arms.

Supplies Needed:

  1. Ice trays – You may need 2-3 Ice trays depending on what size you buy
  2. 2-Cups of liquid – You can use water, tea or any other liquid you want to try. It’s fun to experiment once you get the hang of it. Freeze this in the ice trays the night before you start
  3. 5-Cups of oil. I personally use 4-cups of olive oil and 1-Cup of coconut oil
  4. 100% Lye – Sodium Hydroxide – you will need ½ Cup + 2 Tablespoons. (see photo below)
  5. 2-Plastic bowls (see photos below)
  6. Electric stick blender (see photos below)
  7. Mold for the soap shapes. Some people use rounds, I personally use a celery keeper from Tupperware (see photos below)
  8. Plastic bag
  9. Drying rack
  10. Cutting knife if you make the soap in a block shape like I do.
  11. I also use a plastic table cloth to protect whatever surface I am working on.

IMG_20180116_115458773.jpg

IMG_20180116_115635244.jpg

I have tried many different concoctions. I have also had a few “Lucy Moments” but I won’t go into that here. I am doing this post just for instructions on how I currently make my soap.

  1. Put 4 cups of olive oil and 1 cup of coconut oil in a crock pot on high setting. While this is melting go onto step 2
  2. Making the lye mixture: Put the ice cubes in a plastic bowl 1st (ALWAYS put the liquid in first!) then add the ½ Cup + 2 Tablespoons of lye and stir with a wooden or plastic spoon until the ice is melted.
  3. Once the coconut oil melts, then it is hot enough to add the lye mixture. I use mainly olive oil and coconut oil; however, any oil can be used. You have to find out what works the best for you. I personally like this mixture because it seems to help keep your skin soft.

IMG_20180116_121353518.jpg

IMG_20180116_121359030.jpg

  1. Carefully pour the lye mixture into the crock pot over the hot oil and with a stick blender, mix till it gets to a thick pudding consistency. When you pull up the stick blender, it should leave an imprint in the mixture (see the photo of the imprint on the top of the mixture). It’s called saponification.

IMG_20180116_121936826.jpg

  1. It’s then ready to pour into the mold. I use a celery keeper from Tupperware, with a plastic bag in it. After about 24 hours, you pull out the whole bag and cut the soap into bars.
  2. After cut, put the bars on a drying rack or similar so they can dry out. Let set for about 4 weeks then it’s ready to use.

IMG_20180217_182949153[1].jpg

Have fun. If you have any questions, please ask.

God Bless All.

Sort:  

Awesome post @lucy-moments! I would love to give this a try sometime. Thanks for the great info.

Out of my many homesteading adventures, soap-making is one I haven't tackled yet. With 4 little ones, (well, 2 aren't so little) I'm just nervous about spills. Maybe in a couple years I'll get to it.

Btw, great name! We don't watch much TV, but this winter started watching I Love Lucy with the kids. They love it!

Oh you need to make soap! I just learned myself this past year.
I make both lye base and the melt & pour varities.

It is one of my favourite crafts I do. Thank you for your reply. Sorry I am late for answering you.

This is so cool! I tried making soap with my 4-H group once but I got there late and they had already made the soap. So I will definitely try to make this. By the way I'm @crowbarmama's oldest crowbarkid, Tonks.😊😃

Congratulations @lucy-moments! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @lucy-moments! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @lucy-moments! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @lucy-moments! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 1250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @lucy-moments! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @lucy-moments! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60633.78
ETH 3383.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52