You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Color Challenge - Friday Blue 📷

in #photography7 years ago

hey @uruiamme thanks for the link to the original artist, checked it out and his portfolio is amazing, feel a bit cheated here, o well!! not that i am surprise it happens just shocked that folks think they can actually get away with it lol i have just flickr for searching images that I need to use on my website, and in every case where the photographer stated some rights reserved, i asked their permission to use it and it was granted every time, all it takes is a little effort, thats probably one of the big differences here as opposed to FB , on FB 99% of folks just nab the images off the internet and post and no one gives a poop about it and especially FB as long as folks are posting lol!!! money is rolling in for them !

Sort:  

Now this is ironic, as I said I checked out the artist on Flickr and what did I find "some rights reserved" this artist is freely sharing out his work even for commercial use and all he asks for in return is attribution !! image

Can't read the small print. All I can say is that this is not a normal blogging platform! Money is being earned here!

Thanks for that @lobbylux. I read the license on Flickr and t you are right The photographer does give Creative Commons licensing for that image so, the image can be used (but not to represent is as your own) as long as the artist's name is clearly posted and a link provided to the site. However, as #colorchallenge appears to be created in order for us to show our own work, I don't believe the use of the image is appropriate in this case.

Just read the rules for #colorchallenge! IT MUST BE YOUR OWN WORK.

In sharing that @dmcamera I wasn't justifying it was more trying say "why pretend make yourself look foolish ruin how others perceive you " in general for all images as this is very widely done on here
The fact it was used in a photo challenge is even sillier I would I thought that was blantantly obviously "your photos" but obviously not lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67015.44
ETH 3247.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64