Sort:  

It is a stunning photo of buachaille etive mor in Scotland.Are you the photographer??? I have seen this image on flickr.

Good catch! Scotland must be a nice place to take photos. Or, if I understand the system right, flikr must be a nice place to take photos.

HeHe! Did you check out the other Color Challenges of his. From Shutterstock and KimballStock! This is a dishonest way of participating in #colorchallenge!

Stunning! love it. followed and want more :)

Brilliant! allow me to add another line in there.
I am a mountain
I am the sea
You can't take that away from me
but you can follow me 😄

COPYRIGHT INFRINGEMENT ALERT

@monomyth, you are in violation of the copyright for posting this image. You should remove it or comply with the license.

@steemcleaners, this account is posting a lot of stock images and images found on the web. The account needs to be investigated for a history of copyright infringement and abuse.

Here is the original image posted above. It has a particular license for use. @monomyth has neither linked to the source, explained whether it is altered, or attributed it to anyone but (presumably) himself.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/127130111@N06/31194915425

Since @monomyth expects to make money on this post, it is a commercial use of the image. I have posted extensively about this issue on Steem, including this one about the dirty secrets of posting stock images.

The copyright owner of this photo is John McSporran.

So glad to see that something is being done about this! I'm blown away by the infringements I am finding!

Yes, I take this photo from internet (and other photos). But, not flickr. And ıt's not a secret. I never said I am the artist. I just shared it. I'm adding resources. Thank's for info. @uruiamme @dmcamera

Well, the "secret" is that a lot of bloggers, and in your case, people who post photographs with no source, is that you are scraping the web for "Eye Candy" to make your post look good. You realize that some of the photos I have seen cost over $500 for usage rights? Or more? But a lot of people just grab any nice picture and ignore the rules.

It would be nice if you posted your own content and your own photos if possible.

If that's not possible, license the photos or hire a photographer or artist who will create the images you want. Just remember, not all images are "free" as in beer.

You're right. I agree with you. I'll be more careful now. Thanks for the warning and info :)

#Colorchallenge, as far as I can tell is NOT ABOUT SHARING IMAGES FROM THE WEB , it's about showing your own work that you have created! Unfortunatly, posting the source is not sufficient for a stock image! Under NO circumstances may anyone other than the artist stand to gain from publishing the actual photograph. The photograph needs to be removed! This is not Facebook. You are standing to gain from this work! Stock photographers do sue, and with the agencies behind them, I would tread carefully if I were you. I know of some photographers who simply search the web for their content and demand payment or bring lawsuits.

I removed all free stock photos. Are we okey now?

You have done the right thing. So proud of you for that! It's in your best interests and also Steemit's. In the long run you will see it has been worth it.

There are specific ways you can use the actual free images, and you need to learn that you can never ever misrepresent them by seeming to claim they you created them.

The problem is, you may pick up an image like you did because others have been taking it, and you don't know the source. You honestly think it is free. Others post it making it look like it is free. Often the_"free"_ sites also have stolen images. I've had to have a few of mine removed from there in the past!

The best thing by far to do is to use your own work. In #colorchallenge, those are the rules anyway. It's to showcase your own work.

But if you are going to use photos from the web for an editorial blog (not just to get attention), research the photograph all the way back to the photographer or agency before assuming it is free because someone else used it as free.

All the best!

hey @uruiamme thanks for the link to the original artist, checked it out and his portfolio is amazing, feel a bit cheated here, o well!! not that i am surprise it happens just shocked that folks think they can actually get away with it lol i have just flickr for searching images that I need to use on my website, and in every case where the photographer stated some rights reserved, i asked their permission to use it and it was granted every time, all it takes is a little effort, thats probably one of the big differences here as opposed to FB , on FB 99% of folks just nab the images off the internet and post and no one gives a poop about it and especially FB as long as folks are posting lol!!! money is rolling in for them !

Now this is ironic, as I said I checked out the artist on Flickr and what did I find "some rights reserved" this artist is freely sharing out his work even for commercial use and all he asks for in return is attribution !! image

Can't read the small print. All I can say is that this is not a normal blogging platform! Money is being earned here!

Thanks for that @lobbylux. I read the license on Flickr and t you are right The photographer does give Creative Commons licensing for that image so, the image can be used (but not to represent is as your own) as long as the artist's name is clearly posted and a link provided to the site. However, as #colorchallenge appears to be created in order for us to show our own work, I don't believe the use of the image is appropriate in this case.

Just read the rules for #colorchallenge! IT MUST BE YOUR OWN WORK.

In sharing that @dmcamera I wasn't justifying it was more trying say "why pretend make yourself look foolish ruin how others perceive you " in general for all images as this is very widely done on here
The fact it was used in a photo challenge is even sillier I would I thought that was blantantly obviously "your photos" but obviously not lol

wow what a beautiful capture where was this taken ?

@lobbylux, he would not have known except for me tracking it down. See my other comment. This photo was not taken by @monomyth.

Also, the actual photographer had this to say about his photo shoot and the stunning images he captured:

"I nipped up the mountain in the dark with a head torch to capture the dawn and was met with this spectacular sight."

In case you are interested in how the actual photographer took his images and some other ones he captured, this quote comes from the following link.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/127130111@N06/31019553142/in/photostream/

Of course, that image has pink and red in it (because the real photographer got up out of bed before sunrise to take it), so it would subjectively disqualify it from @monomyth's "blue" color challenge.

Yes, I saw that too. Unbelievable! It's one thing to use an image in your blog post and sort of insinuate it's yours, (that's wrong) but to enter images in challenges and blatantly claim you shot them is very, very wrong!

@dmcamera thankfully we are not all the same, have a lovely dear x

Scotland, but this is not the artist!

NIce work @monomyth keep going waiting for more from you
visit my blog for some of my clicks

beautiful post!!!)

this is so beautiful . :)

Gerçekten çok güzel

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65811.20
ETH 3178.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54