A Steem Inspired Adventure

in #photography8 years ago


So first a thanks to celebr1ty for going out and finding some interesting snails outside and posting it. https://steemit.com/photography/@celebr1ty/walk-through-the-woods-how-many-beautiful-creatures-around-us. These snails made me think of one of my favorite parks to visit in Leo, IN. The Vandolah Nature Preserve. It is owned by ACRES Land Trust, kept very clean and is well preserved. While I was hoping to find a few snails and slugs of my own, I came upon something I enjoy running into even more. Mushrooms! I have been a fan of hunting morels all my life and enjoy finding other types as well, although I cannot identify much of what I find. Regardless of what they are I still like looking at them and taking pictures to show everyone else. If you have any ideas of what one is I would really appreciate the information. If not no big deal just enjoy!


I wish I had taken a third picture of this one....The gills are a very dark flat black, but the other picture I took is blurrier than I hoped...

I believe these are called Jack-O-Lantern Mushrooms. The bright orange is hard to miss with the hard brown background. I always enjoy finding these around. They really add some bright shades to natures colors.

No idea what this one is, but it has managed to grow to a decent size. It also appeared there were more around that had been eaten, so maybe this one would be worth looking into.

This one just made me think of things I used to watch as a kid like "The Smurfs", and "Alice In Wonderland." Could not find the caterpillar to save my life though....

This was the first specimen I walked up to today and the last picture I have for you. Again, no idea what it is, but resembles coral to me and has a velvety texture. It still amazes me how different mushrooms can be from one another...

So glad I logged on here today and saw that post. I may have just sat and binge watched some Netflix, but Steemit got me up and out the door. A website that adds to my outside life experiences.....who knew?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60314.14
ETH 2890.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35