[Joffry Lakes Provincial Park, BC] Checking off my PNW Bucket List!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

IMG_0329.JPG

Three glacier fed lakes lie along the Joffre Lakes trail north of Whistler, BC. The drive to get there is half the adventure, with dramatic scenery to be found everywhere you look.



IMG_0373.JPG

Up above, a friend has snapped a picture on my iPhone of my littlest adventure buddy, Cash (a mini Australian Shepherd), and I out on the trail headed up to the lakes. The trip is about 6.2 miles or 10km roundtrip with a 1200’ or 370 meter elevation gain. A challenge for beginners, and a nice jaunt for intermediate hikers.


IMG_0256.JPG

Cash taking a well deserved break on our lunch break. Happy trail dog. :P


IMG_0330.JPG

The beauty that is Joffre Lake. This photo isn’t touched up, that’s the real color of the water via iPhone. The lakes are fed by glaciers and the chemical reaction that occurs as the ice melts gives the water this amazing color.


IMG_0317.JPG

Natural drama. So many pictures of lakes and trees.


IMG_0255.jpg

On the drive back south to Squamish, I caught some amazing views of the sunset. What an end to a beautiful day! If you ever head up to this region, I recommend checking out housing options in Squamish as an alternative to Whistler and its pricier resorts. Squamish is small, but has great pubs and cafes, plus truly affordable places to stay that give you access to the natural beauty the region has to offer.



Hi friend! I’m almost brand-new here, less than a week! I’ll be using steemit/busy to share thoughts on artistic practice, arts opportunities, equity, my personal projects, and other fun things happening in my world (like hiking, check out my recent blog about my adventure to The Enchantments in WA state. I also just wrote some recent Tips on Making Radically Inclusive Art.

To start my time on steemit right, I’m doing the #DolphinSchool Bootcamp with @markmorrisjr, and will be putting out some content every day! Check out all the writers in the bootcamp, they’re making some great content.

Sort:  

Awesome pictures. Love the first one, open road and destination unknown. Free to venture out. Thanks for sharing the pictures!

And thank you for stopping by and commenting. :)

Amazing landscapes! The color of that lake on the forth picture is unbelievable. Great post! Reading this made me want to visit such a beautiful place. Thank you for sharing this (:

Thank you for stoping by to check them out! :) Ya, the lake was unreal...honestly quite a few of the glacier-fed lakes around here get some pretty stunning shades of blue. See you back at #bootcamp!

I said it and I will say it again, your content is dope (in the best way). Less than a month old and the posts you are churning out are truly amazing.
I love the first picture, how the road looks as if it's going through the mountain! Lovely!

Thanks so much, glad you keep coming back and checking things out! I’m looking forward to finding my rhythm and getting my content really unified as I figure out what I have the most fun making/works the best on the platform! See you in the steemosphere!

This is another awesome photo presentation of some beautiful places to visit. I have been through BC fairly extensively but have not been to Joffry Lakes.

My recommendation if you are back ever thinking of going back to BC is to checkout White Swan Provincial Park. They have a natural hot spring right beside a mountain river. You could likely spend a week in the hot spring alone. There are many mountain lake campsites and tons of peaceful, untouched beauty.

Thanks.

You just said the magic word: hot springs. From the map it looks like Lussier Hot Springs (um, the pics are incredible)? I love BC, it’s definitely on the list to spend more time exploring there--looks like this place is closer to Calgary...would be a great weeklong road trip. Options, options! :)

Ya, I think it is called Lussier Hot Springs. It is found in White Swan Provincial Park... not far from Kimberly BC if I recall. The Hot Springs are amazing. I could have been in there for 6 hours a day for a full week and not been tired of it.

I love that they are outdoors. Last year I went to Sol Duc Hot Springs out on the Olympic Peninsula, which are nice, but they’re formal pools with a bathhouse and restaurant attached in the woods. I love how rustic these are. I would never want to leave.

Ya. You can literally hop over a wall of rocks and you are in an icy river. It is incredible.

Heaven.

You have really beautiful photos!

Thank you so much for stopping by!

wow! what amazing shots, Joffre Lake and the one of your dog are my favs. I would love to do that hike!

It was pretty gorgeous--there was also rumor of a nearby hot spring that I didn’t get to explore...next time!

That would be fun. Lets hope it secret enough that you can skinny dip! Best feeling ever lol.

Hehe, so true! :P

The last photo, I want to see that place. I need to get out more!

That was just right off the highway between Squamish and Whistler, didn’t even need to hike to get that one. :)

It's a long way away from here :( there's no mountains anywhere near here. Ive always wanted to see some. The Appalachians are nice, but they're not BIG. I'll head northwest someday and drive til I can't drive any farther.

To the north!

I live in Indiana. If I drive north I'll end up in the Arctic circle. I might meet santa claus if I drive due north haha

Breath-taking! ... And yes, the colour of that water is amazing. This city dweller envies you greatly...

Thanks for stopping by. :) I lived in NY for awhile, and the best part of getting back out west has been being close to nature again. I’ve learned it’s pretty essential for me. :)

Fantastic. I see you've added the captions between, and I can't critique the beautiful photos, excellent. You might reorder your headline a bit, the brackets make it hard to read. How common is the PNW abbrev? Took me a minute. Otherwise, spot on!

Hey there! The PNW abbreviation is really common/branded in Oregon/Washington/Vancouverish area. Anyone from this part of the land would get it pretty much right away, haha. There are trending hashtags like #pnwonderland on IG that show off our obsession with it. Haha. Thanks for the personalized feedback and thoughts on title! :)

Cool! Just wanted to check. It pays to know your audience, and you obviously do!

It’s good to remember I’m speaking to a global audience--especially as the platform isn’t all that big yet!

This post has received a 57.29 % upvote from @seb thanks to: @lilyraabe.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66979.07
ETH 3513.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.21