Walk with me, where the skunk cabbage grows

in #photography6 years ago

With the weather getting warmer, I wanted to head over to one of my favorite trails and check out the skunk cabbage. I rode my bicycle to the start of the trail and walked over a short distance to a marshy beaver pond type area.

There the first of the skunk cabbage plants were starting to come up. Not too many were flowering yet but I got a couple of pictures. They are hard to get close to because the trail doesn’t go through the wet marshy area.

You can kind of see the type of terrain I had to get through from this photo of moss on tree branches:

mossWide.jpg
Moss on branches, wide angle – click for viewing full screen

Below is a close-up of the moss that I adjusted the background blur up on. There is moss growing all over the place around here. Lots of trees have special defenses to keep the moss from taking them over and pulling them down.

mossClose.jpg
Moss on branches, close-up – click for viewing full screen

Below is a close-up of the skunk cabbage flower. I had to get my feet wet to take this picture. There weren’t that many blooming today but I’m sure in a few weeks they will be all over the place up here.

skunkCabbageClose.jpg
Young skunk cabbage flower – click for viewing full screen

Here’s a wide angle view of the whole plant:

skunkCabbageWide.jpg
Wide angle of skunk cabbage – click for viewing full screen

Skunk cabbages smell kind of funny. They attract certain types of insects for pollination with the oder. Later in the season the leaves will get really big, perhaps as large and a foot by three feet. I’ve always liked them, they look colorful in the swamp.

Here’s a picture of an old stump:

oldStump.jpg
Old Stump – click for viewing full screen

There are a lot of old stumps around here. Some of these trees must have been very old when they were cut down. You can see the notches that they made in the tree to support a platform that they used when cutting it down. Down slope from the stump if you look carefully you might be able to see a few skunk cabbages growing. (They are small and hard to spot in this photo unless you know what to look for)


Thanks for reading! I always value your support and comments. The pictures were taken by me with my Galaxy S9+ on March 21, 2018

Sort:  

@lightsplasher, Awesome. Greatest photo shots you've taken from near by nature with your walking. Best #walkwithme providing. Yep...nature has amazing place to see and capture. Beautiful & young skunk cabbage flower catch by you very closely. Sure...it like as beauty & young lady.. :D Thanks for inspiration and absolutely brilliant post introduced.

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed the photo's and writing.

Awesome photography.....i always like your photography........Cabbage is the most essential vegetable.....i love cabbage.....upvote done @lightsplasher

Actually, I'm not sure if Skunk Cabbage is edible, I have not tried it. The leaves and flowers smell a bit odd.

This forest looks like a fairytale forest. Soon the seven dwarfs of Snow White will arrive. I am always fascinated by the beautiful pictures nature paints us when we let them grow in peace and quiet. I used to try to grow this plant in our garden. Unfortunately, we never had much luck with it. Thank you for sharing your article with us.
Sunny greetings from the Caribbean. mikeCee
$_72 rot3.png

Nice flower bush. I can't imagine trying to grow Skunk Cabbage in your garden but I guess if you had a lot of water there all the time it might work.

although you take this photo remotely, but this photo looks very beautiful and very perfect.
thank you for sharing this morning @lightsplasher.

So pleasure travel in the junggle with various of trees, enjoy its brother @lightsplasher, i like it and have upvote and resteem your post to more than 1500 my follower, thanks for your sharing and thanks for your support to me, success always for you

this very beautiful photography is my friend .. please visit my blog once my good friend yes @lightsplasher

Wooow thats great and awesome photography you captured it perfectly by your walk nature is so nice and beautiful and you very beautifully capture it thanks for sharing

wow...this very beautiful photograph,
my dear friend @lightsplasher,
i like your post all time,thank you for sharing with us,

This post has been Resteemed and Upvoted by @alimuddin

Hi dear friend @lightsplasher , how are you, really your photography is awesome , i love your post all time it's true , thank you for this post sharing with us, are you forget me D:) @lightsplasher , please remember me, i can't forget you, last best of luck

good post, I really like his friend. @lightsplaser.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62860.75
ETH 3112.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86