We have some white spots on our squash leaves; these pictures are AFTER it rained today...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

Looking for @grow-pro although I know that notifications don't work so well. :)

I'm also going to test putting @originalworks in the post (rather than a comment) and see what happens.

Here are the pictures:

20170903_102048.jpg

20170903_102056.jpg

20170903_102059.jpg

20170903_102103.jpg


Sort:  

It's powdery mildew & it can spread quickly to your other leaves.

I've got to go take care of the same thing taking over mine.
Apparently neem oil can be used on unaffected leaves to help prevent infection, but you'll likely want to cut off & destroy the infected ones.

I think @largelyuseless isn't this time. I think you have correctly diagnosed it.

Do remove the affected leaves....But..

I don't know if neem oil is your best choice. I think something much better, but perhaps a little bit more complicated, would be a compost tea drench/Spray, or a Garrett juice Spray/drench.

I think either of these would be better, because they introduce beneficial microorganisms onto the leaves that will provide a layer of protection.

Neem oil works great as a preventative measure, but not exactly going to cure the problem on its own. There are a few ways to reduce the spread and pruning off affected leaves is a wise move @largelyuseless & @em3. Here's what the farmers almanac says, via source:

Remove all the infected plant parts and destroy them. Remember, do not compost any infected plant, as the disease can still be spread by the wind. Spray infected plants with fungicides. Effective fungicides for powdery mildew treatments or cures include sulfur, lime-sulfur, neem oil, and potassium bicarbonate.

If a fungicide is what you need, consider chamomile tea. I mix a mild solution 1 oz concentrate chamomile to 1 gal water and spray the leaves. Best thing before spraying anything on the leaves is to test a small area first. Chamomile has natural funcigidcal properties and I use it for many purposes in the garden. It also helps to prevent damping off (a fungal disease that frequently kills seedlings).

Here's another (2) home remedies using milk & another using baking soda to combat powdery mildew on cucurbits

Thanks for thinking of me @libertyteeth, looks like I have two new Greenthumbs to follow now!

Remember to trash the leaves - never compost. The spores can spread in the wind, so it is best to clean cutting tools and discard any removed plant material in the trash.

I'm battling it on my cucumbers and zucchini/squash too. It usually won't kill the plant, but it is aesthetically 'the worst' lol. They may not win a beauty pageant, but it could be worse 😋

I absolutely agree. I used milk in past and it worked as a charm!

Thanks all! I gave the squash a severe haircut today, I think I got most of it. Will be spraying neem oil tomorrow since I have some. Will order some chamomile as well.

Please Activate @originalworks

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @grow-pro. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @libertyteeth to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Great stuff! Thanks for sharing! Loved the pics! :)

They look fine to me. But if you think it is a problem, then @grow-pro should know.

This is awesome and I love its ingenuity.

They did not get a little DE on them when you dusted that tree, by any chance? That is sort of what it looks like.

Unfortunately no, this is after many waterings and more than one rain since the last DE dusting. @grow-pro @em3, and @largelyuseless gave some good tips; I removed almost all the leaves with spots on them, and will finish the job tomorrow and then spray neem oil. Fingers crossed! :)

Ah! Good luck! I followed growpro, looks like a great resource!

Ohhh that powdery mildew really is not cool. We get that around here but it doesn't spot like that.

i don't know the solution to this but i hope others help you :)

Awesome shoots of squash leaves @libertyteeth why these spots appear ?

See @grow-pro @em3, and @largelyuseless responses -- it's powdery mildew, and is apparently a fungal infection.

I think it is powdery mildew. Go to your local flowerist and ask them for neem oil. They should be able to provide it to you.

Yep, ordered some from Amazon a month or two ago; applied it again yesterday. We have a big sprayer (2.5 gallons I think?), with a pump, makes it much easier to distribute. For neem oil though you need to mix it with soap so it'll mix in with the oil, I used Kirk's Original Coco Castille soap, which came in bars so I grated it and then shook the sprayer vigorously before each time I needed to pump it up again (Hans and Franz?).

Ah that sounds like a good way of douing it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69034.81
ETH 3815.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50