So, now I need a machine that can chuck wood, at what the camera captured!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

Well turns out the game trail camera purchase has achieved a result! One 3-shot burst captured a woodchuck in the second and third shots!

Now -- what do I do about this pest??!?

Woodchuck, perhaps.jpg

That's a blow-up from the third image. The second image only saw about half the creature, and the third got all except the hindquarters.

Here are the full images (second and third; the first was taken as it had activated the sensor on the left side, but before it had entered the frame).

DSCF0070.JPG

DSCF0071.JPG

I also had it take a video when activated, but only had it set to 10 seconds; I've raised it to a minute but it hasn't captured anything since. The video's below -- it took all the cheese off the rat trap, and must later have activated it as I found it flipped over and sprung, but with nothing in it. Perhaps it gave him a good scare, but I don't think he'll avoid the food source...

The A24 rat trap is also in the images above, the red and black thing. The woodchuck is too big to make effective use of it though...

Then I moved the two have-a-heart traps closer to the tomatoes, and put a slice of cheese in each as it is apparent he likes them! New trap placement is right next to where he was nibbling on the cheese -- one facing the front of the garden, the other facing the left side where he came from:

20170903_103247.jpg

10 second video:


Sort:  

I can't believe something this big can CLIMB! Crazy!!! I was thinking it was much smaller. Ugh...

the all you eat buffet is drawing to a close, I can feel it. You've identified his weakness and like many of us - it is cheese!

Beautiful tomato plants by the way. If you have some netting or something to wrap the lower portion of the cage with - up to a height where the critter can't stand on its hinds to reach - should keep him from munching. Since those plants are healthy and pretty tall, you can also prune up from the ground so that the tomatoes are out of reach. Otherwise, you might need to invest in a large block of cheese as an offering of truce. 😂

that woodchuck must be in his glory in that garden..lol beautiful setup you've got! I'm taking notes 😉

You have a good sense of the force. :)

Looking into netting, thanks!

Finally results and what a devious little character he is! Give no quarter!

Yep, we routed him (I think, him :) -- will post a video of the release tomorrow.

lol that darn wood chuck!

Great shots Great deal with your new cam!

So it means that you are close to catching the critters?

Yes I think so! Fingers crossed... :)

Smart animals always amaze me and how they avoid traps )

we finally see one of the critter that is eating our tomatoes leaf.it very big and i think it will be very good for soup........

Oh I wouldn't mind at all if he just ate the leaves. Well, I'd mind -- but, chewing on what I want to chew on? Nope, and now he's trapped and miles away.

Good luck on your woodchuck quest! They make great woodchuck chili, roasted in a slow cooker and then the meat taken off the bones. It's another kind of garden harvest -- that takes more effort than picking beans. Whether you eat them or not, I hope that you can enjoy your garden without them. They can do so much damage!

Nice, followed! Decided I don't want to kill anything I don't eat, and I didn't really feel like taking him apart. I learned how to take a fish apart a couple years ago and I'd imagine a mammal isn't a whole lot different, but, didn't want this to be my test.

And the kids I encountered on the walk to the release said he was so cute, as well. :)

It sounds like you were successful in your catch and release, so that's great for you, your garden, and the woodchuck! :D

trap ahead ahhah :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60205.00
ETH 2994.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90