Travel Photography - Desk Job To The World of Wanderlust

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

National Geo, Intrepid, TripAdvisor - They all pay genuine photographers a decent wage to travel and take the photos the average tourist can't. If you've ever thought of travel photography and didn't know where or how to start, you've found the right place. 

I love travel..

..and I love photography

Travel Photography is a great opportunity to immerse yourself in different cultures and meet hilariously weird people (tends to be the audience I attract). It's also a fantastic way to expand your photography skills and really experiment with different photography techniques! When I first started, I had no idea what I was doing.

My Story? I am into my *seventh* year working my full time desk job. Long story short, I snapped. I needed more than the soft sterile glow of a fluorescent light. I was sick of the same artificial temperature and musty smell generated by the aircon. I enjoy my job, but at the same time, I couldn't see myself living off a nine-to-five for the rest of my life.

So you're probably wondering, if you liked the outdoors so much, why didn't you go full Bear Grylls? Why did you pick such a boring stagnant job? Firstly, I'm not a big fan of increasing my dietary intake of urine, but it was mostly a decision made by influence more than choice. I come from a Sri Lankan background (those of you observant enough you may have noticed my slightly tanned complexion). If you're from the subcontinent, you'll be more than familiar with your limited career options.

Doctor

Lawyer

Engineer

I'll let you guess which one I became. If you chose a different path, in the eyes of my culture, you may as well be a homeless gambler with a cocaine problem. So here's to those of you out there looking to break away from the clutches of societal expectation.

Money

When I was young(er?), this was my main limitation

  • Massive University debt (still paying it off)
  • Average salary job
  • Rent
  • Car loan

I know, you're probably like "but I cant afford it.. I just bought camera gear that cost me my right kidney and left kidney.. I'd have to sell my dialysis machine to travel!"; and in no way do I suggest you travel outside your budget, but dont sweat it! There are ways you can get to exotic destinations on a dime.. and still preserve your renal function.

Destination

  1. Open a map
  2. Look at where you are now
  3. Look at the countries around you

Pick a destination that's a DIFFERENT culture to where you call home. If you live in the U.S. don't go to Canada, go to Mexico. Pick a place you have NEVER been to. It doesn't matter what kind of change in environment. Good, bad, ugly... hey, if you want to go to Mogadishu, go for it, but know you'll probably need to add a decent Kevlar vest into your budget. I live in Australia, so when I got bored photographing kangaroos grazing on the harbour bridge, I looked to Japan, Thailand and the Philippines.

If you're on a budget, pick a country with a relatively low cost of living. With the money you save over eight months in Australia, you could potentially stay in the Ukraine for the remainder of that year! If you have a steady stream of income that doesn't require you to be physically present (investment house, online business, shares or if you're a bitcoin-illionaire), you could potentially live overseas indefinitely (until your visa expires anyway). I like to use Numbeo to get a general idea of what to expect in terms of cost.  

Dont romanticise the idea of a specific destination. I can't argue that Iceland is one of the most photogenic countries on earth, but if it's going to cost you enriching experiences to both Thailand AND the Philippines, why not leave it until your travel photography blog is doing well? 

Flights

Pick a destination that isn't on the other side of the planet. You'll find that the further you want to go, the more expensive your flights will be. Be smart and make your Dollar, Riyal or Rupee go further instead. Research your local airlines and see which ones have regular deals to specific countries. 

Book early! Give yourself at least 3-4 months prior to your travel time to book flights. Airlines are notorious for making customers pay a phenomenal premium for booking late. Don't end up paying the 'get your shit together' tax that I used to. 

Travel during off-peak season. This could potentially save you hundreds of dollars, if not thousands (depending on how long you intend to travel). Everything is cheaper. Not just flights, but accommodation, events and tours too. You also won't have to deal with tourist jams and you tend to get photographs that most people wont.     

Accomodation

This one's a personal choice. Everyone is different. Know what your basic requirements are and what you are comfortable with. Me personally? I don't tend to invest too heavily in where I stay. I end up spending way more time out than in. Then again, I like a Hepatitis free bathroom as much as the next guy or gal, and a decent bed I can sleep in without fear of being devoured by scarab beetles. 

Pack Light. Pack Smart.

I no longer travel with check-in baggage (What? How? WHY?)

Why

It's expensive. A lot of budget airlines charge you a massive premium for adding the extra 15-20kg that you probably don't need.

It's a security liability. When I travelled to the Philipines, they lost my check-in luggage on the way there and I had to buy a new set of clothes to wear for the trip. I eventually had half my luggage returned two months AFTER my trip had ended. The other half, stolen. Getting stuff taken out of your bag is way better than getting stuff put in it. I don't want to be a drug mule, drug alligator or drug coconut. As far as risk goes, it varies depending on where you travel, but the risk IS real. They picked my padlocked bag to steal. If they wanted to, they could've just as a easily put something in. If you're caught, innocent or guilty, you'll be left at the mercy of whatever local legal system you end up in. Best case scenario, you get extradited back home, worst case, death penalty.. yikes, shit got real dark real quick huh? 

It's. Dead. Weight. If you're planning a trip between multiple locations within the country (as I imagine most people would), the most comfortable way to travel is with one decent sized backpack. That's what I use for all my trips (unless I intend to go to the snow, can't really roll up a snowboard.. yet).

How 

Bring a portable washing line, and some detergent strips (extremely cheap to buy from eBay). It takes about 5-10 minutes max to wash and hang your clothes. Humid countries take around 2 days to air dry, while cooler countries tend to dry quicker. Pack enough clothes to cycle through the drying time plus one extra set, which for me averaged about 3 pairs of each (shirt, pants, socks), plus an extra couple of sets of underwear and a decent waterproof jacket. I found that Merino wool tends to work the best. The clothing is generally moisture wicking, odor resistant and a great insulator (both heat and cold). 

Military roll your clothes. It's seriously the most efficient way to store your clothes in your bag. If you're not familiar with it, here's a link with a step by step guide. You can use a similar technique for your trousers, socks and underwear. 

Gear I pack

Bags

You'll need two. I like my carry-on bag to be one that's spacious but obviously confers to most standard limits (56 x 35 x 37) and have a relatively durable exterior. It doesn't necessarily need to be padded to protect your camera gear, remember you can always strategically arrange your clothes to get a similar level of protection. I use the Osprey Farpoint 40 for its versatility and generally good build. I also bring along with me a small day bag I pack into my carry-on bag. This should generally be much smaller, but still be able to fit the gear you take out during the day.  

Tripod

Not everyone needs one, but I like my long exposure shots. If you're going to bring one, pick one that's lightweight and small enough to fit in your carry-on bag and one you can attach or put in your day bag. Alternatively you can get a small desk tripod (as cheap as 10 dollars on eBay) and make up for the lack of height by being creative with whatever's around. I use the Manfrotto Befree Tripod because the size and weight were perfect for what I needed.

Camera 

Whatever you have. I wouldn't recommend you go out and buy yourself a brand new "travel" camera. However, if you're in the market for a new camera, I'd recommend something in the mirrorless range. They've seriously come a long way in terms of image quality, but you have the added benefit of having something less bulky. I use my Sony A7RII, but in saying that, you could just as easily take spectacular photos with a phone camera. They are a really good substitute, especially if you don't intend to print wall sized photos. Goes without saying: always bring along a spare set of batteries. I can't tell you how many shots I've missed because I've run out of juice!

Lens

Leave your primes at home. Bring one zoom lens that encompasses a decent range. When you're traveling, you don't want to be changing lenses all the time. You'll end up dropping your lens, getting dust on the sensor or missing the shot entirely. I use the Sigma 24-105mm lens with an MC-11 adapter (Sony make great lenses, but F#ck they're expensive).

Experiment

Always do at least one thing different to what you did before. You're not born creative, you learn it like everything else. One of the BEST things about travel photography is that you are not limited to anything, there are literally no rules (other than the ones governing the country you are in).

The easiest thing to do is change the way you compose a shot. If you normally use the rule of thirds, try having your subject right in the centre. If you shoot your landscapes using a wide angle lens, try it with a longer focal length. Eventually, you'll find your photography niche and style and that's when you know you have to change it all up again. 

Have your camera in manual mode and play around with the settings. I normally shoot using a slightly slower shutter speed to emphasise motion. Here I experimented by tracking my subject instead, which ended up producing a pleasant background motion blur, but kept my subject relatively sharp. 

Get High! Get Low! Move! Get Dirty if you have to! 

Sounds like the starting lyrics to every pop song since the 90's. Get the shot other people won't. We were at a beautiful Zen Garden in Tokyo and everyone that walked by took a shot of the house behind the lake from a standing height, so I did the opposite. Here I've taken the shot from a low angle with focus on the foliage and rock rather than the pond or house. Sure, I looked like a total retard, and muddied my trousers, but that's all part of it! 

Get Personal

Dont be afraid to photograph people. If you're being obvious about it, just go and ask them. Forget the language barrier, most people will understand if you point to your big ass DSLR that you're a photographer looking to get a shot. Some will smile and politely say no, but the majority will be more than happy for you to go ahead. I tend to show them the photo afterwards to provide them the opportunity to delete it. Regardless of their response, always be respectful. Remember, it's a privilege to be in their home.

Put The Camera Down

Counter intuitive, but sometimes if you're constantly looking through a 105mm lens, that's all you'll see. You've missed out on everything else that's around you. Remember, travel photography is about the immersive experience. It's actually really hard to do if you've constantly got your camera up hunting for the next shot. The moment will come whether you have your camera in hand or not, most of the time, as long as you have it within reach, you won't  miss it.

Lastly, but MOST Importantly, Have Fun! This should be something you Love. Don't be that person that puts up photos based on what other people like. Put up photos you are proud of. 

Let me know what you're own travel photography experience has been and any tips you think other photographers might find useful in the comments below! 

Happy Snapping!


You can check out some of my full resolution photographs Here.

If you enjoyed this post, be sure to UpVote, and follow me @lenscape especially if you're into travel, photography and the general randomness of my blog.

Sort:  

awesome read! love the japan photos...especially the one with Mt.Fuji in the back! I think we all secretly want to travel and be paid for documenting that, but it's hard... I've put up a lot of my photos on micro-stock websites and sold a decent amount of those, it's not a monthly income yet, but a good start!

Thanks! It's actually Mount Yotei near the Niseko Ski Fields (should've captioned my photos, but it wont let me edit it anymore). I think if you're genuinely passionate about what you do, the money just becomes an added bonus. Whether I get rewarded financially or not doesn't compare to the life experience I get when I travel.

Whoops my bad, they look so much alike! That's very true and I share that thought, though I'm always looking at the future too

Hi! Have you heard about @krwhale? It is similiar with @randowhale. For your information please click on.

THIS SCAMMER IS NOT THE SAME AS @randowhale! @randowhale is the ORIGINAL UPVOTE BOT. THIS BOT IS A SCAM AND A RIPOFF. Only use @randowhale!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85