Finding Luke Skywalker’s Island in the Philippines

in #photography6 years ago (edited)
Few more days before Star Wars: The Last Jedi will be shown in theaters and we are all still left hanging with so many questions from the film's final scene. It’s an iconic scene that’s even more intensified by the breathtaking view of the mysterious island that served as Luke's hideout. Rocky islands rising out of the sea - the perfect backdrop for the meeting of the two key characters of the film.

Last year, I had the chance to explore an island located at the northernmost part of the Philippines - Palaui. This island reminded me so much of Luke’s island. They share the same form and mystery. Luke’s island is actually a real island called Skellig Michael off the coast of Ireland. But we need not go to a galaxy far, far away or in this case, Ireland, to witness an equally spectacular view.



Visual Series 2 : Palaui


IMG_9752.JPG

Palaui Island is a hidden gem located off the northernmost part of Cagayan Valley in the Philippines. One must brave the waves to get there. The waves were so big that I never really had the chance to pull out my camera and take pictures. Instead, I held on my seat really tight and prepared myself to anything that could happen.

IMG_9744.JPG

IMG_9743.JPG

IMG_9745.JPG

Collage.jpg

IMG_9750.JPG

IMG_9742.JPG

IMG_9753.JPG

Thank you for viewing! Let me know what you think of this series.

Warmest regards,
@legendarryll


If you enjoyed this series, you may also check out my other Visual Series:
Oldest Street in the Philippines
Daily Visual #1: Hanoi Train Station

Sort:  

These photos are breathtaking!

Thank you @ybanezkim26! I highly recommend this island. I know you'd love it there! :)

I love your pictures. I hope makapunta ako dito some day. Ganda! Ang layo nga lang. Hehe.

Thank you @junvebbei! Palaui should really be on your travel list. I highly recommend this island. Medyo malayo nga. 16 hours ang byahe ko from Sta. Ana to Manila. But it's definitely worth it! :)

Sure, I will take note of it. I am also afraid of big waves. For now, your lovely pictures are sufficient for me to know this island. I first heard of Palaui Island from you. :D

Congratulations @legendarryll! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you for sharing these photos with us. Actually we plan to visit Palau (without the i) next year, so I guess Palaui might see a little less travellers, just like a hidden gem, as you called it ;)

Best wishes from Austria,
Cori & Flo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60180.31
ETH 3001.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64