Canadian Rockies

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hey Steemians!!

As of today, there are still over 130 wildfires in British-Columbia, so far over 845,000 hectares or over 8000 square kilometers is estimated to have burned since April of 2017 from 1000 different fires and it is expected to continue burning well into september. It is on it's way to be the costliest fire in B-C's history getting close to beating the 1958 record fire that burned an estimated 855,000 hectares. Currently ,over 4000 people are working real hard to keep the situation under control. The fires were most likely started by a combination of hot dry temperatures and lightning perhaps human negligence ( tossed lit cigarette butts, unattended camp fires...you get the point) and spread by winds in dense forested areas. I suppose Just like our Fort-McMurray fires, it will be hard to determine the real cause and residents of the affected communities will just be left to deal with the burned remains of what once was their world for the next couple years.

Our city is still filled with smoke, it's been smokey in Edmonton all summer, I don't want to imagine what it must be like in B-C. I feel fortunate that our province isn't in an as critical situation this year given we are experiencing a really hot summer and extremely dry conditions as well, perhaps we get a break this year. Since going to the mountains is an "at your own risk " on any given day, the added fire hazards and smoke continues to keep @silvergingerman and I waiting until it's safe to visit again. We are seasonal workers in the oil and energy industry and it will be time to return to work soon therefore vacationing time is almost up. In the meantime I suppose I can still admire them from afar and look back on trips past. Here is a few pictures from previous trips.

mountain7.jpg

jasper national park11.jpg

athabasca fall5.jpg

snowy mountain road.jpg

mountain sunset.jpg

Feel free to leave a comment about your favorite paradise escape or your dream destination!

Cheers xox

Sort:  

Excellent photos @ladybug146, but please provide some info on your equipment and exposure data.
Upvoted, resteemed, followed & DPS.

Please state clearly in the comments how would you like to be featured in the “Daily Photo Selection”: with a linked photo, or with link only without a photo. We are making a list of photographers who are ready to improve the visibility of their work through the DPS.

Thank you @photo-trail for taking interest in my photography and your tips! I would love to be featured in your "daily photo selection" . Gear used is Nikon D7000 and various Nikkor and Sigma lenses ranging from 10 mm to 300 mm. some photos could have also been taken with a uv or polarizing lens filter depending on light conditions or effects that i'm trying to create. Hard for me to tell because I have all my gear in a backpack while exploring and change my lenses too often to keep track. I need some guidance to post proper link ( i'm pretty near computer illiterate) I will ask a more experienced user how to in the meantime and i will provide a link once i figure out how to do so.

Wowwwww..Really.Beautiful place..👌👌✌
Follow.!!😃😃

Thank you for stopping by and your support !

You got beautiful landscapes shots.

thank you!! landscapes are my comfort zone, I need to practice macro... thanks to you tips on your page I may get post worthy results someday!

I was traveling and camping in BC and AB a few weeks ago and was saddened by how bad the smoke was from all the fires. Glad the area you're in isn't in a critical state. Your pictures from past trips are beautiful! I just shared some from my trip as well.

Awwe, yeah the smoke is bad. I hope you still enjoyed our back country just the same. Maybe someday you can come back and enjoy it smoke free. I'm headed right over to your pictures.

Hi ladybug, thanks for the interesting reading. I'm enjoying that Steem gives you access to regular people all around the world with something interesting to say about their local place and beautiful pictures to share. As you say you are interested in precious metals... I have to ask if you find gold in them there hills? ;)

There is gold in them darn hills!! but most of it is in protected areas so it is illegal to collect it. My friend suspects he found the motherlode...in a national park so he can't get to it. We do get flour gold in the rivers that run from the mountains and a dedicated prospector can find a few ounces/ summer( in non protected area). The BC area is better for gold than Alberta. Thank you for stopping by!! The Steemit platform is great for exposure to new experiences, loving every minute of it!

I forgot there is also the tale of the lost Lemon mine in the Rocky mountain house area ( Alberta)

It's a fun challenge chasing gold, I've found only a little bit but it's taken me to some nice locations in the countryside... always hoping to find a bit more of course! Bendigo in Victoria, just a couple of hours from where I live they found a nugget of 70kg in the old times!

Whoa!! 70kg nugget awesome i wouldn't mind finding that in my pan!... the places that it takes us is the reward here too! the running joke here, we spend more to go prospecting than what we recover. I am not dedicated at all, @slivergingerman and I have found about a gram one summer and a tiny bottle's worth of mini garnets but we pan, no rigs, i get bored after a while and go search for petrified wood ,fossils and native american artifacts that may have been carried by the current. I just like being at the river.

Absolutely same here...I've certainly spent a lot more to go prospecting than I've ever found... probably 100 times more! But there's always to possibility.... so it beats golfing as a hobby for me :)

Amazing views!

  • hope the current smoke isn't a problem when breathing...
    If I'm in Finland I like to go to a beach somewhere - or a deserted rock and just sit down an listen to the waves rolling in. That is therapy :)
    If I'm travelling somewhere - hiking in the mountains, with views like you just shown us.
  • U&R

thank you for stopping by! ah yes the peaceful sound of the waves! i'm from the coast and now live inland. It's a sound I miss. The smoke is a bit irritating after breathing it in for almost 2 months strait but manageable. what is U&R?

great photos, awesome views!!

A wonderful landscape post with beautiful images of nature!

Thank you so much , it means a lot coming from a great photographer such as yourself :)

Such beautiful photos (and beautiful memories!) As amazing as these pictures are they pale in comparison to being there in person though!

lol yes they are beautiful memories, as nice as the pictures are, i'm always disappointed that the camera can't capture all the details and true beauty of the landscape. My mind remembers tho :)

Beautiful post.The reflection of rocks in the water is just awesome

Thank you for viewing and your kind words !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57831.03
ETH 3136.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42