Deranged Photography Contest - Friday Sports

in #photography5 years ago

Captured in flight at the Point Mugu Surf Contest. I'm posting this image as my entry in the Deranged Photography Contest - Friday Sports, led by @derangedcontests, in the amateur tier.

94b8hs0zgu.jpg

Please click on the image to view it full screen!

Original photograph by @kunschj. All rights reserved

Settings1/500 sec, f/5.7, ISO 160, focal length 178.0 mm
CameraCanon EOS 80D
LensCanon EFS 55-250 mm kit lens
Editing SoftwareGIMP
LocationPoint Mugu, California

q9wmavan4j.png

Thanks @otage for my name in blacktop alphabet!


2x00x3pxen.gif

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord


26pnfbytjg.png


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Check the new contest I just launched.
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you Pix.

What a cool shot you really caught him in mid flight

I took a lot of shots :-)

:) I suspected as much but it worked to get this awesome one at least and probably more

Nice! I've seen some great wave photos of that area :) Always wanted to go on a good swell

I’ll have to go back on a good swell. The contest is in August and the waves are typically small.

Is that on the base? I've talked to a few people about that wave and i heard it breaks best on South, southeast swells... There are some videos i've seen that look really great! Someday i hope to see it

It's on Point Mugu Naval Air Station, so only surfers with base access can surf there. I've heard that it can break exactly like Pipeline, but without the rocks.

They have a contest every August and open it up to everyone. Their are entry fees to surf in the contest, but it's free to go and watch. They have music, food, beer. My wife and I are always surprised at how few people seem to attend, especially people that live on base.

I met a guy at the Wedge several years ago who was going to be stationed there for awhile and he said he would try and get me in. No swells showed up for a while and then he got transferred. I should have went anyway to just to go see it!

There is always talk of shutting the base down, so maybe this break will return to the people.

Oh! That will be cool ... and yikes. It will get crowded like everywhere. But at least i will get to see it someday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76