Whole Wheat Apple Cinnamon Dutch Baby

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

619A9860.jpg

619A9865.jpg

What's up, Steemit, it's been a minute.

Today almost makes a week since my last post, what can I say, it's been a crazy weekend here in Detroit followed up by Memorial day and a lot of catching up. But here I am with another Dutch Baby recipe :).

This time I made it using whole wheat flour and actually baked the fruit instead of adding some as toppings. Super tasty, pour over some honey or maple syrup and there you have it, perfect breakfast!

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs;
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour;
  • 1/2 cup milk;
  • 1-2 tablespoon sugar;
  • a pinch of salt;
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract.

For the apple-cinnamon filling:

  • 1 apple;
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon;
  • a pinch of nutmeg;
  • 1 table spoon brown sugar;
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice;
  • 1 teaspoon coconut oil or butter.

619A9853.jpg

Directions:

Place all of the ingredients except for the apple filling ones in a mixing bowl and whisk into a smooth mixture. Make sure there are no lumps in the batter. You can also combine the ingredients in a blender for a silkier texture. Set aside.
You can either use a cast iron skillet or any other type of oven proof dish.
Preheat your oven to 400 F.

619A9852.jpg

Wash and peel your apple, slice it, add lemon juice, brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg. Heat coconut oil or butter and cook the apples for approximately a minute. Pour the batter over the apples. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until the edges turn golden brown.

619A9868.jpg
619A9875.jpg

Top this beautiful Dutch Baby with confectioner's sugar and cinnamon. Serve immediately with your favorite warm drinks. I'd say hot cocoa would compliment this dish in every way possible, also chai tea for that extra spicy flavor. Buuut, if you're being too hot these summer days, a scoop of ice cream would work just fine! If I had to pick I would go for lemon flavor :).

619A9878.jpg

The images were taken with a Canon EOS 5D Mark III and a Canon EF - 50mm - F/1.8 lens.


Sort:  

Precisely! A couple of ice cream balls will be very appropriate here. I would choose pistachio:), yum, yum

Good thinking! Pistachio ice cream would be good in it as well!

Thank you, lady!

I am a pastry chef and I have always wanted to make this apple pie, but in my country it has become almost impossible to acquire this fruit because it is so expensive, but I do not lose hope of doing it, maybe I will not stay like you, because I see that you technique is very professional but I trust to get closer a little more, greetings from Venezuela.

Hi! Nice to meet you :)
I've heard about food shortages in Venezuela, but I never thought that it would be difficult to find some apples around since it is just a common fruit. That's pretty crazy. Hopefully, there's gonna be some in fall, perhaps.
By the way, you can substitute apples for whatever fruit or berries you want!

Hola. También soy venezolano y ciertamente en estos momentos se nos hace díficil. Podemos probar con Chayota sancochada y jugo de manzana.
Saludos amiga

this is amazing @kotturinn, posting you give very good quality, i will try to make this cake, it seems very good, success always @ kotturinn, visit my account.

Thank you, hope you enjoy it!

Man, I just finished eating dinner and feel kinda sick. But, this is making me crave something sweet, damn it, lol.

Hahaha! It is delicious, you guys should make it, it will be ready in no time too! I just wish I had some ice cream around haha

Thank you :)

Hola @kotturinn
Me encanto tu receta.
Este podría ser la torta del Domingo próximo.
Muy sencilla de preparar, económica y se ve de un bueno Genial.
Gracias por el artículo y te invito a que prepares la de cambur que hicimos el domingo en casa. Esta publicada y aquí te envío la fotografía ya terminada.

DSC_0500.jpg

The photo looks pretty, I wonder what those light pink petals are and just what is it? Looks like some sorta baked goods.

Hola. Las flores del centro son Ixora (ver foto) y las del entorno en realidad no las recuerdo ahora.
Se colocaron después de horneada la torta.
Saludos

I see, I don't think I've seen these before, they're pretty cool :)

Te invito a que veas la receta en mis publicaciones. Es muy rica la torta. Seguro te encantará.

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

How are you? if a few days ago I did not see you and I was already asking about you but I see that you were very busy, you enjoyed those three days off? I was also busy doing bread for the weekend, I learned to make bread.

This looks very good love your recipes hopefully at some point you can try one of these

Doing good, how're you, lady?
Oh wow, you made bread? That's cool, I was wanting to make sourdough bread a few months back, but the didn't get past making the sourdough starter, it didn't work out. I should probably try again. What kind of bread did you make?

Какое атмосферное фото! Люблю сочетание яблок и корицы.
Спасибо вам за рецепт!
(было бы здорово, если бы вы могли посмотреть мой последний пост:)

Спасибо :) мне тоже очень нравится это сочетание!

I can not wait to have apples to bake something like that too)))
As always, mouth-watering pastries and beautifully decorated photos!

Thank you inna-yatsuk! It is so simple yet tasty, hope you get to cook it soon!

Looks delicious! Anything with Cinnamon and nutmeg, I love.

True! Thank you @white.tiger! Even though it is sorta an autumn combination, I can enjoy it any season haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61896.22
ETH 2413.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66