Wild child!

Hey, Steemians! Hope you’re all doing well. I’m sitting home, hustling on Instagram, trying to come up with money to pay bills without spending crypto. I’m so far beyond the “hopeful” news about a recovery. I remind myself, this tends to happen every year. Money is tight. Clients are even tighter. It feels like the end of the world for freelance artists, until people start getting their tax returns. The winter thaws, and people start booking again. Right now, though, it feels bleak. I hate it.

I’ve been cutting through the work owed, photography-wise, and this past week, despite a abhorrent excuse for a work schedule, I was able to get to one of the most fun clients of last year. Her name is Christina. She’s a local girl. Minneapolis Dominican beauty, living in the suburbs. It was one of those things where we’d been Instagram friends for years, then one day, she DM’ed me with a blunt message that read “…I’m ready to shoot!”.

We picked a date. It was right after a coast to coast trip, from New York City to LA, to Vegas, and back. I made that trip with my family as well, which was fun, but also expensive and exhausting. Coming back to a shoot lined up in my hometown was a relief. Christina seemed like a wild child and I loved that. I knew we’d make some really sexy images together. She was totally comfortable with her body and her sexuality, so I was more than happy to take this shoot on and help her capture it.

Christina was everything I hoped and expected. She was indeed, wild. We made it through her home, which was darkly furnished. Plants and art around every corner. One space in the basement even had a pool table, which any photographer would have jumped at. Christina looked amazing and she had a few outfits to choose from, all with a 70’s “nudy magazine” vibe. We shot outside as well, and even a few nudes in her car. Those’ll be coming in the next set of edits on Steemit.

https://imgur.com/F1cnVCU

Making Steemit posts during part of my day does improve my mood. I love having a place like this to share my work, and I love being able to share it with a community of artists and creators that genuinely appreciates what I do. Honestly, it’s been hard lately. For both me and @vermillionfox. Steemit is worth it, though. It’s nice to have something in our lives that’s worth the effort, even when it isn’t convenient. Follow me here, @kommienezuspadt for more art and photography.

Sort:  

Love the entry photo.

I feel that posting on Steem is some kind of completion process, a chance to think through an event and break it down a bit. It is personal and the sharing of it publicly is relationship and community building through a transparency of experience.

Your grueling schedule is a lot more beautiful than mine :)

Totally challenging about the money part. Same here! I'm trying to make some cash when crypto is this low. I hope your customers keep contacting! Christina is indeed pretty and wild just to look at the photos! :D

yes its that time of the year where tax bills are around the corner, as well people cutting costs so less work for everyone. Redundancies are everywhere. Even tho prices are low, many of us are still sharing our work because we like the community but most importantly, its already part of our routine :)

They are an incredible photos, dear friend.
I finally miss many things, but as you say it's good to have a place where you can share your day to day and even interact with other people.

It depends on the situation of each person, it becomes more difficult to be there, but it is good when you enter here again.

Debts are difficult many times, but you have to work and move forward

You and @vermillionfox are so appreciated! My gorgeous and talented family here on #Steemit🖤

I wonder what you will do if the tax bills are not the reason why people do not contact you.

wow! amazing images - I love the darkness of the first image and the lush green vibes of the second, and your model is stunning! Her curls are just as lush as the greenery.

I'm in the same boat as you - I sell antiques, and so I only earn commission when I'm selling, and here, most of January is verrry slow, so I actually earned about half of what I usually do... eish baba!

I keep thinking... I can cash out some steem or something... Then, the little voice in my head says, NO! what if steem goes to $10??? And you took 200 Steem out now (that's about $60/R780 at the moment, which would not really do much, probably groceries for the week) versus the amazing $2000/R26000 it could be one day at $10.... Bite my tongue and HODL, boiled eggs for every meal are great, protein, right?? 🤪hehhehe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68763.18
ETH 3770.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76