New photos from an old shoot w/ Katt Lee of Nylon Pink!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Good evening, Steemians! Tonight, I have an example that personifies what makes Steemit so great. Naturally, posting daily causes you to curate your own work finding artwork to share. Believe me when I tell you, there’s more I decide not to share than what I decide will make the cut. It seems advantageous in the short term to unload old photography and earn rewards, and maybe that would work. The reality is, I know every post I make is leaving my mark on a blockchain that’ll most likely exist long after I’m gone. I want to put my best work forward. That’s what I want to be remembered for. Tonight, while digging up HD’s that’ve set idol for too long, I discovered an old shoot from 2013. Los Angeles with Nylon Pink bassist, Katt Lee!

This shoot was previously lost with the exception of two photos. Through some folder arrangement, I discovered the entire folder of RAW images tonight. Something that wouldn’t have happened had it not been for Steemit. I can go on and on about the difference our community has made me for financially this last year, but occurrences like this are nuanced and hard to define. Unearthing a shoot that I’ve lamented losing for years and now rediscovering makes me even more grateful for the drive and purpose in my own art.

I was connected with Katt through Kaila Yu, a mutual friend of a Minnesotan pal that […at the time] organized and directed RAW Artist events in LA and Minneapolis. I was in LA for a week and Katt and I both found time to schedule a late night shoot at her Hollywood home. 

When I arrived, Katt was ready and extremely energetic for midnight on a weekday. Her house looked like an explosion of pink and anything you’d considering K-pop girly. Everything was feathers, rhinestones or plush. For a photographer that was road weary, it was a huge relief to have SO many options to shoot at my disposal. Katt made frequent outfit changes while listening to loud Korean music and getting crazy. Revisiting the unedited photos tonight made me laugh seeing the carelessness she shooting […which was amazing]! Such an abundance of energy and life made it easy to sit back and shoot.

Three of these images have existed since the shoot in 2013, but these last two are new; just edited tonight. What a gift to rediscover them and breath life in to old work. It’s so easy for me to reverse engineer the decisions I’ve made in my career which have ultimately brought me to the style I’m proud to call my own now. Just look at the mood and shadows of these last two images […and my choices in how to edit them], versus the first three. Really fascinating!

Thanks for reading! For more photography [new and old], illustration, art and design, please follow me @kommienezuspadt. I post every…damn…day.

Sort:  

Interesting progression, whats next?

Not sure. Thanks for commenting @lvl!

Very nice photography and she's hot!

shes so hot!
great photos btw...
please continue posting topics like this..
thank you!

I will @deism12! I've been shooting for almost 20 years so I have a lot of photography to share.

soooooooooooooo hooooooooooooot

HA!, lol. Thanks for the comment @hassanom93.

very pretty. Great photos and I am sure they were very fun to take...

Yeah, @sportfan! She was fun to work with. I was exhausted at this point and her energy picked me up.

Interesting job... followed you. Hope to see more of your posts on my timeline

Thanks for the follow @arnel. Yeah, I have a ton of photography to share.

Some great shots you got there :) followed & upvoted have a look at my post you might like it too Snorkling with Whalesharks

Thanks @redtravels. I'll check it out now.

Nice shoot! Followed

Thanks for the follow @dickdeepdog!

These are awesome!

LOVE! :-) Cheers @kommienezupadt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.17
JST 0.032
BTC 63715.34
ETH 2738.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61