High tea and scones at Mámor in Melbourne!

Good day, afternoon, evening, Steemit! I’m writing this blog at Mamor Chocolatier and High Tea House in Melbourne, Australia! This place has become an obsession for me. They allowed me and a client to shoot here as soon as I arrived. We were absolutely spoiled with arctic fire tea, homemade chocolates and scones right out of the oven with homemade jam and cream. For an American, this has been the most decadent experience and after all, we are in Leo season and I am a Leo. I was invited back for scones and tea. I wandered Collingwood this afternoon, had lunch, and resisted the urge to buy cookies or cakes from the local coffee shops. I made the walk back to Mamor. No regrets!

It’s hard to not think of @lovejoy here. Of all my friends, he’d appreciate this selection of tea the most. I’ve been on the road for two weeks, and in addition to missing @guthrie and @vermillionfox, I’m definitely missing my friends and the @caffetto family. As I mentioned in some of my previous freewrite blogs, I wouldn’t have come on this trip if I didn’t have to. I was more than happy to be in Minneapolis, working on comics, doing a daily Steemit blog, and managing to pay my bills. I am here, though, and during my last few days in this far away city, it has been a near perfect trip That aside, the comforts of home are certainly calling to me.

Tomorrow, I’ll wake up for a short dark pinup session with Scarlet, the lady who’s been allowing me to stay in her home while she’s out of town. From there, around sunset, I’ll be meeting up with Heidi, the make-up artist that worked on my shoots during my time in Melbourne. I rarely do trades, but make-up this many shoots would have cost me a fortune. Once that last shoot is a wrap, that’s it. I’ll be neatly packing my clothes, camera and equipment. I’ll wake up early for a 9:30a.m. departure to Los Angeles, and arrive three hours before I originally took off, the same day, even though I’d bee traveling for half a day.

So, my thoughts in summary for the last two weeks in the real “upside down”. New Zealand was incredible. Rustic in many places. So green and lush. Auckland was a great little city. Christchurch, I think of the two, was my favorite. I hate flying, as you all know, but I associate the New Zealand Alps with Christchurch because they’re on the southern island. Downtown Christchurch was sprawling with development as the cities tries to shed the images of the survivors of the earthquakes. Melbourne felt the most like home. Amazing coffee, almost everywhere. The people are diverse, artistic and friendly. I could see myself here one day.

I’m left humbled but the kindness and hospitality I’ve been shown on this long journey. One thing I didn’t touch on in this freewrite was the ladies I shot with. That was such an honor and one of the most exciting parts of the trip. For as much as I complain about traveling, I do love my job. Even at my most exhausted, the moment I take that first memorable image that’s “just right”, my creative adrenaline kicks in. I’m immediately reminded why I do this job. What it lacks in money, it certainly makes up for in memories. Thanks for reading. For more art, illustration, thoughts on life and travel, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

damn that coffee cup!!!! <3
JAW-DROPPING!!!! :o <3

Good afternoon, Lars. I am very happy to read your post. It looks like you are still in Australia. Wow ... what a beautiful place. I like glasses and other cutlery that looks very luxurious. You must be very happy to be there. Your photos of a cup of coffee or other cutlery look very pretty. No less with photos of your model. I also hope that your flight to your city can run smoothly and you can safely arrive there. Enjoy your day, sir.

Would love to visit those 2 countries you have been travelling and working in. Sounds like so much fun even though you said you'd never been there if you didn't have to ... Still sounds like fun ! lol The chocolate place sounds like a dream place for me to beee :D Have a safe flight back to the US!

What a lovely and yummy experience 💜


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

That looks amazing! I love good tea houses, but there aren't many in the Midwest. When I lived in Spain, there were a lot of the African and Middle Eastern style tea shops.

It would be fun to see Australia and New Zealand. Melbourne sounds really nice.

Great photos, of course :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.19
ETH 2615.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.73