Halloween!

It’s Halloween, Steemit! Well, it’s over now, but I’m still reflecting on a great night. My son @guthrie went to school this morning adorning the garb of Griffendor as a student of Hogwarts. Last night, @vermillionfox and I had to solve a problem as he’d lost not one, but two wooden wands. We fashioned a third from an old wooden make-up brush and fixed the same blue LED light that we used in our Liliana Vess cosplay shoot last year, “Sneak peak of my first cosplay shoot: Liliana Vess from Magic: The Gathering!”. @vermillionfox and I made a long overdue visit to the chiropractor, picked up the child and as soon as the sun went down, our Halloween began.

We met @guthrie’s half brothers and parents in Minneapolis. They found this incredible little spot outside of St. Paul. A small neighborhood of two blocks that literally shuts down the street for Halloween. I even heard that to buy a home on those blocks, you are obligated to participate and decorate to great expense. Within this two block radius, not a single house is not available for trick-or-treaters. The festivities and decorations are over the top. Giant, 10ft animatronic werewolves, moving spiders on the ground, small skeleton sculptures fit inside a jack-o-lantern diorama. It really is breathtaking. This was our second year visiting this area. Just as amazing as last year.

It’s great that the boys are all able to trick-or-treat together. They have a close relationship and see one another each weekend. I’ve been pressed with deadlines, meetings, commitments and honestly, the day went too fast. I felt stressed when I realized it was already 6:00p.m., but as we pulled up listening to “Halloween” by The Misfits, that all went away. I was happy to be there with my family. It wasn’t too cold. Just an ideal fall chill, and the boys were beaming. Even @guthrie’s oldest brother with autism was all smiles, cooing and jumping as we talked towards the first house.

The walk to cover the area of homes within the barricades takes roughly 30 minutes. There are hundreds, if not thousands of families throughout the course of the night. @guthrie was casting spells on the very people offering him candy, yelling “Ridiculous!” and “Expelliarmus!”, white pointing his blue illuminated wand at their faces. The boys made out like bandits with giant bags of candy. We got home and went through our bedtime routine. I’ve been going through these images and editing while watching Avengers: Infinity War. What a great night.

Thanks for reading, Steemit. I hope you all had a great Halloween. If you’re waiting on the results for Trial by Comics, it is coming soon. I’m finishing the artwork for the next theme. Sorry to keep you in suspense. I knew the end of this month would be brutal. I’m not even out of the woods and have a trip to LA coming up in two weeks. Also, thank you to everyone for their kind words and sentiments in my post last night. It’s times like that I’m reminded just how unique our decentralized community of friends really is. For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

Perfect photos!

Luckyy :D This looks so awesome! The first photo is so mysterious, lovely blue and pink colors ^-^
Halloween isn't really a thing here, just some parties.

Happy Halloween! Sounds like a fun way to spend the holiday. Also, the wand ended up looking spectacular.

Wow buddy. Its wonderful photography. I really impressed buddy.thanks

Posted using Partiko Android

Beautiful photos, Lars :) And, Happy (late) Halloween !!! Im glad to see that you had a wonderful time with your wonderful family <3 <3 <3

Your son's costume was great! Also use a brush to turn it into a wand with LED light man who really creative idea that is very good, I loved the photos in addition to the idea that they gather so many sweets and fun healthily with other children

wow! excellent photos and cool model :)

This seems like an amazing fairy tale neighbourhood to exist for children to enjoy tricks or treats! Sounds fun.

I think I miss not having children the most this time of the year, with Halloween and Christmas. Oh well, Life choices!

I love that you made that amazing wand for your little one, it must be fun to play with for him and I am sure it will get some good use even after Halloween!

I didn't do anything too exciting, but was just Happy to be in England this Halloween. I was hoping to be in our new place by now, but nothing ever happens according to schedule. As they say, if you want to make God laugh, make a Plan, right?

You bring us some cool photos from you Halloween evening 👌🏼

You have had a great day @kommienezuspadt , those are many adornments it would be incredible to live a moment like that, there is no such tradition here.
I like the last picture

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67