Goth beauty Monica in 1920's fashions!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

** Quickly, I’d like to mention this to any one following me and reading this post. I set a goal for myself to reach 3,000 followers by 2018. It was overtly ambitious, but I noticed I’m a mere 500 away from reaching that milestone. I know there are contests, giveaways and other methods to gain followers. Steemit is increasingly consumed by all of the above […which I’m including Trial by Comics in that category]. I don’t want to do anything like that, but if there’s a particular post or shoot that you’re fond of, would you mind resteeming it with a brief “…follow this guy, he’s worth your time.” comment? Thank you, friends. 

Greetings, Steemnerds! Late night post here on a cold Minneapolis evening. I’m settling in from a great afternoon hanging at @caffetto with @tarotbyfergus, @vermillionfox, @iamredbar, @guthrie and @mada. Magic: The Gathering, drawing, crypto-conversation and coffee. When I think of “…living my best life”, this was it.

Tonight’s photography comes from a shoot I did in June of last year, far on the east coast, somewhere in New Jersey. The model’s name is Monica and she was referred to me through a friend as a hair stylist for my annual NOIR event. I held NOIR in NYC for the first time the previous fall and Monica was brought on as part of the beauty team. I gave her the option of being paid in cash, or to trade her hair services for a shoot and she chose the latter.

The actual shoot came almost a year later when I was back in NYC. I was shooting another beautiful friend and talented make-up artist, Sunny Moon, who I’ve shared on Steemit in my previous post “Steemit only photography w/ Sunny in Las Vegas!”. Monica allowed us to use her home for the shoot, and upon wrapping with Sunny, our shoot began.

In addition to Monica being talented and beautiful, her home was amazing! She has remarkable taste in eclectic decor and furniture. In my 20 years of shooting, her home definitely ranks in my top five favorite locations. She prepared herself in a unique goth 20’s hair and make-up look. I loved it. Something refreshing, dark and romantic. Coupled with her home, it was like shooting Alice Angel from Bendy and the Ink Machine in an opium den.

We moved around the house using vintage oil lamps for light […which if you’ve followed me for any length of time, you’ll know is one of my favorite methods of lighting my subjects]. She moved gracefully and slow. It was one of those shoots that as the pictures were being made, I had to remind myself to consciously stay calm as to not lose the magic of the moment. 

Thanks for reading! I post daily. For more photography, art, illustration and the stories behind the work, follow me here @kommienezuspadt! Good night!

Sort:  

beautiful

@kommienezuspadt that great fashion sense and collaboration of talent.

Omg, amaizing photos!

I really like the vintage/alternative look achieved. : )

I've actually just posted about the age at which girls are the prettiest (philosophical approach), if the topics seems interesting to you I'm looking forward to our discussion!

These vintage photos are just excelent.

Beautiful, creative and different.

Really like this shoot.

i like Monica fashion....

Beautiful. I love her tattoos.

Gorgeous work! You have a talented eye, of course the model and setting are stellar too, but I give credit where it is due :)

Totally stunning as always man. I absolutely love the style of the models that you photograph, and you're right, her place looks incredible! Also, I think my favorite part of this shoot are those tattoos on her knees, they look awesome.

Beautiful imagary. Check out the new networking site immortalmodeling.com. Would enjoy working with you sometime.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62561.21
ETH 2449.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64