Mask Me Like One Of Your French Girls **In Photoshop**

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I wept to a bird who drank bleach from the hands of a psychopath.

I grabbed this photo from Episode 81 of @jessandthesea's poetry project, Skin on Sundays.

sos-Sadness-web_mask2.jpg

It originally looked like this...
sos-Sadness-web_mask0.jpg

I modified it by using an alpha mask. Alpha masks seem to be one of the hardest concepts to grasp in Photoshop... but they're easy, I promise!

Imagine this mask on my face is the color black in a Photoshop mask.

With Photoshop masks, black areas are hidden, and white areas are visible. The mask is the color black, because it is hiding what is beneath it.

bbj_masked.jpg

Here is one way to make a mask...

First, make a selection.

Make a selection around the areas of the photo you want to keep.

Screen Shot 2017-12-11 at 10.23.55 PM.png

Then, click the mask button.

The little stencil icon on the bottom right of the screen.

mask button.jpg

That's it!

Photoshop will automatically connect a mask to your layer. This is what my mask looks like. Black areas are hidden, and white areas are visible.

sos-Sadness-web_mask1.jpg

Since the portion of the mask over the wall behind her is black, it is removed (allowing the sky layer beneath it to shine through).

Making changes later...

I think masks are great because they are not permanent. If you have the mask selected (not the layer icon to its immediate left), you can paint on it using the brush tool (painting black = erasing).

Screen Shot 2017-12-11 at 10.56.19 PM 1.png

Any area you paint black will erase, and any area you paint white will shine through. I usually prefer masks over the eraser tool, because I can revisit them later and modify...

sos-Sadness-web_mask3.jpg

Make sure you check out @jessandthesea's magical poetry if you haven't already. It may change your life, seeing the world through her eyes..
<3

Sort:  

interesting post. i like it

Huh. It is pretty normal to see people going around giving themselves big upvotes but it seems bordering on downright rude to leave a generic comment, give yourself a fat upvote for it and then not even have the decency to give even a tiny upvote to the post. You handle yourself with grace and aplomb in the face of the vagaries of Steem - not sure I would have responded so kindly :) Way to be awesome @kindstranger - but I suppose that goes with your username <3

Haha, well, to be honest, I didn't fully notice... or maybe just didn't want to believe it ;P

I just went with my mom and grandma to see the movie Wonder with J. Roberts, and I really appreciated this quote they cited...

"When given the choice between being right and being kind, choose kind."

Thanks for the comment :)

Nice clear explanation of masks and how and why to use them. I actually just tried to explain masks today in a post and I used a lot more words and don't think I actually explained it anywhere near as well and certainly not as concisely. Great post :) Cheers - Carl

You did?? That's awesome! Did you post it? I'd love to check it out, if so.

Thank you for your comment -- I've tried to explain masks to friends a few times over the years, and I've never felt confident in my explanation... glad to hear it's at least somewhat coherent here ;>

#life
Wayne Gretzky : You miss 100% of the shots you don’t take.

You miss 100% of the photos you don't fake? ;>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70949.50
ETH 3803.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45