How To Photoshop *Your Ex* Out Of A Photo // 3 Steps

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Before

IMG_0120_original.jpg

After

IMG_0120_edited.jpg

An old flame doesn’t need to prevent the continued circulation of an otherwise circulatable photo 😍

Bathing Belles parted ways with a musical partner a couple months ago, not too long after we had taken a bunch of photos together. Luckily, this type of Photoshopping is my favorite -- technical procedural work that is done best when you can't tell it was done at all.

Here is my process...

There may be better ways to do this, but I will show you what I do. It involves a lot of duplicating, cloning, and masking.

1. Mask the foreground

Duplicate the background layer and mask the part of the foreground area that is touching the part of the image that will be erased.

IMG_0120_edited_fg.png

In this case, my left arm was touching his soon-to-be-erased body. I wanted to be able to paint/paste background contents on new layers and tuck them safely underneath my foreground/arm layer.

2. Clone + Mask

Make a new blank layer. Use the Clone Stamp Tool to sample parts of the background that could be used to cover up the person/object/ex you are trying to remove. In my case, I sampled the visible areas of trees, and I masked away parts that I didn't like or need.

3. Duplicate + Mask

You can also straight up copy and paste parts of the image. In this photo, I used the Rectangular Marquee Tool to select segments of trees and paste them into different areas.

Screen Shot 2017-12-12 at 1.10.24 AM.png

I added masks to those layers so I could smooth out their hard edges.

Screen Shot 2017-12-12 at 1.10.37 AM.png

Trust your eye, and use whatever you have access to.

There are no limits! You can sample:

  • Elements of the photo
  • Elements of other photos from the same session that may contain more visible background elements
  • Elements from random internet photos that look like they could be part of your photo.

Little by little, you will come up with a convincing photo. <3

IMG_0147_orig_1000px.jpg

IMG_0147_new_1000px.jpg

IMG_0300_orig_1000px.jpg

IMG_0300_new_1000px.jpg

Share your tips with me!
I would love it.
-Jessica

P.S. That's @amyinautumn in the photos with me. Say hello, she's new... ;)

Sort:  

Hi kindstranger, I personally learned from you an unforgettable lesson,I can not believe any picture or video Only after confirming its validity, And how do we know of the validity or lack thereof, Are there programs to detect this ???

I've wondered about that, too... there must be forensic photo analysis software made for that sort of thing that detects pixel irregularities, or something. Sometimes the edges/borders of elements are unnaturally jagged, or the lighting is clearly different in parts of the photo-- those can be tells.

I know that photos can contain metadata, and maybe date/time/location/whether it was made in photoshop/etc. information coded into the image could offer up some clues in certain cases (though that can be faked, too).

But yes, it's true, you can't really trust your eyes...

Hi kindstranger, thanks for Value Clarifications
If you find an image-detection program or videos, point me out and I am very grateful for your great efforts!!!
I wish good luck to all, with more sustained work for financial freedom.

Whao, you just removed someone using digital skills.
But why Mr Ex is not smiling in any click? Does he know he's gonna be removed soon?

Haha, nice one ;)

Lol, best tuturial!

Excellent work, it seems very easy to do but I'm sure you're a profecional. Thanks for sharing Upvoted & Followed

Thank you, @crazystreak! I do work with Photoshop a lot, but it's not too hard -- anyone can do it with a little patience! <3

In order to work on Photoshop, One needs to know about many of the features of the program,To the accuracy of the observation, Which produces another image contrary to the original.

Must say I had a giggle at this 😂

Lol. This is really good. My bestfriend always took pictures with me and her ex, now she can look at those pictures once more!!

Hi, follow me so we can exchange preference

Haha, yes! That's great. :) Let me know if you have any questions if you do try it.

This is absolutely hilarious!

ahahah thanks for sharing, I might use your tips for my photos as well

@avivakohen, that’s great, I’m glad I could help you! Out with the old and in with the new ;)

This made me laugh haha, very nicely done!

Thank you! Laughing was mostly the goal ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.56
ETH 2523.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36