🌺 Irish wildflowers. 🌺

in #photography7 years ago

These beautiful purple - red flowers are Betony
Stachys officinalis
Lus beatha (Irish name)
Family:Lamiaceae
It flowers from June until October.

DSC_1023-01.jpeg

DSC_1024-01.jpeg

It is an endangered species which is protected by 1991 Flora Protection Order. It grows in spike form, and the leaves are coarse, hairy and blunt-toothed.
They grow from 15- 60cms, and are found in grassland, along the edges of woods.
And I am lucky to have them growing in my garden.

DSC_1022-01.jpeg

Photos taken with Sony Xperia Xa

🌺🌺🌺🌺🌺🌺🌺🌺🌺🌺🌺🌺🌺🌺🌺

Enjoy your day today and every day...

image-0-02-04-71b7b1e40e5b295f169bf816a2c6953e2a3e84bcb90c76be8fa96863180a0ee9-V-02.jpeg

U5duCoWVjfTZ1r2DXeA3SpjDMskvJKh_1680x8400-03-01.jpeg

Sort:  

Hi again @katdvine. The flowers are very orchid like. They certainly look very unusual. Nice plant to have in your garden.

They are quite orchid like...miniature orchids. I am really fortunate to have them here as they are endangered.
When I first moved here I saw them but wasn't sure what they were. I really like wildflowers and make sure I do keep some. Most people consider them weeds, and rip them out. My meadow is filled with them.

Some of the best plants we have in our garden are so called weeds! I work on the philosophy that if they look good where they are and they are not detrimental to 'proper' plants, I don't fret about them and just leave them. Good for insects etc as well.

Thanks for sharing! Lucky indeed. A lovely medicine..

They are beautiful. They look like tiny orchids. I shall look after them as they are endangered.

Thank you, they really are sweet. Very detailed closeup. Shame that they are endangered. As long as I live here I will protect them.

Am new here..please rate and follow me

That really isn't the way to gain followers.
As you are new here, perhaps you may find this post by @rickyjrx useful.
https://steemit.com/steemit/@rickyjrx/steemit-help-archive-for-newcomers

If you reply on a post just to ask for upvotes and follow it will not be tolerated for long. Soon you will find yourself being flagged.
If you want to be followed and upvoted, write a comment on people's posts about the actual post. If you like the post, upvote it, maybe even resteem. But don't use other peoples posts to promote your own. F4F is annoying.
Best of all write some good interesting content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66709.93
ETH 3505.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71