Japan Photo Blog, Vol. 76 - A Very Snowy Niigata City, Japan.

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

fuyu. “winter.”


It started snowing today after lunch. I cleaned the snow off of my car before heading back to work for the afternoon. When I re-emerged, I found my car covered again, in a foot of snow.

The adults in the city talk about what a pain the weather is, but the kids are filled with excitement and wonder. As I left the school today, the mothers hustled and bustled to get to their cars, shouting at the kids to hurry up. The kids were too busy poking trees, running their hands across fences, and tasting the new-fallen cold powdery stuff to notice.

I admit it’s a pain in the ass sometimes for us “adults,” but tonight I simply found myself filled with excitement and wonder, much welcome in this often dreary season here in Niigata City.

I hope you’ll enjoy the photos.


30411762-1D74-45CB-B9F1-D0E985075B43.jpeg


4E1B4CEA-878E-45D0-BF06-FAB6285DA101.jpeg


18EDD82C-5FB5-423A-8A28-02E14EFCC34D.jpeg


1B230C99-8C86-475D-BFA6-0082543A1802.jpeg


3D4DEBDB-614C-4A55-BD62-43CB272CEA04.jpeg

~*~

(Thanks for stopping by! If you missed the last installment of Japan Photo Blog, Vol.75: “A New Year in Narita,” you can find that HERE.)

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as Facebook and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Haha...That's Great @kafkanarchy84! We forget, once we get to be "Big People", how amazing a new snow is, and how fun it is to just go outside and play! Awesome photos!

Wow, snow in Japan Nigata city. Great share, yes childhood means fun and laughter and excitement, they can enjoy in every season. Thanks for sharing such a beautiful post, in the north east part of India too we feel very cold now a days. Thanks for sharing friend, have a great day friend happy steeming.

Thank you for sharing these magnificent photos. I really love and enjoy the snow. Everything seems so clean and peaceful when it's covered with it. I don't get any snow in my city, so I appreciate this post with your stunning photos. Hope you're having good day.

Thanks a lot, @lensational. You too!

Niigata snow is tremendously piled up!
You may go camping in the snow in Niigata in February!
I am looking forward to it!😃

That sounds fun. Are you going to do some winter camping in Niigata?

You have to embrace your inner child when it snows.
Yes it can be a pain in the arse but it is so much fun, funny how a snowy scene always looks magical.
Enjoy it while you can my friend before long it'll be dirty slush in the gutters.
Build a snowman, drill your neighbours in the face with a snowball, create snow angels and have fun.

Looking good! Cold here in Nagano but not much snow so far. Although I have yet to venture up to my fields in the hills so there might be some more there. Anyway, it's funny what you said about children and adults: when I was getting up at 5 am to go to work just before Christmas I noticed how most adults (even here in Nagano) seemed really unprepared for the cold, feeling the need to leave their car engines running for ten minutes before getting into them to go to work, whilst just a few minutes later, joshikosei were walking to school in their miniskirts..! Sometimes I wonder what happens to people when they grow up! Does getting old and weak make you enjoy life less or does enjoying life less make you old and weak?!

That is the question. I'm inclined to go with the latter.

Can't wait to see ya.

really wonderful shots for the wonderful japan

@kafkanarchy84. I usually feel a change in mood during the first days of the snow as evidenced by the snow fights but it quickly turns to frustration because then you have to worry about a lot of things like shoveling the drive way, changing car tires,melting snow, tracking water into the house. Children enjoy it more no downside for them .

Children tend to be more adaptable because they are used to learn everything something new - especially in the first years :)

The most beautiful side effect of snow is, that everything looks a bit more inviting. This concerns especially cities.

Imagine the same pictures made during a rain shower :)

Thumbs up for another winter wonderland

Snowfalls are beautiful sight to behold but not very comfortable a phenomenon to experience. Great pictures of Niigata.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63079.17
ETH 3466.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51