A Trip Through South Carolina [1]

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

[Explore]
Travel somewhere new, have an adventure, capture something to bring back and share.

Destination: South Carolina Coast.

A few shots I took on the trip:

Flying above the estuaries near the Edistoe Island coast
DJI_0137-HDR.jpg

Hello, Crabby friend
DSC_0234.jpg

Enchanting Spanish Moss/Resurrection Fern scenery, common along the Southeastern coast
DSC_0240.jpg

Upstate Lake Inlet Aerial
DJI_0004-HDR.jpg

The hundreds of monarchs I photographed flying over the Southern Appalachians are now passing over Edistoe Island Beach more than a month later! They fly overhead by the hundreds!
DSC_0217.jpg

One of many iridescent seashell fragments
DSC_0237.jpg

Mangrove Pneumatophore Roots. When I explored the Everglades I learned about these... I recall identifying two types of mangroves; black mangrove, and white mangrove, if I recall correctly. I'm not sure which these are.
DSC_0127.jpg

I found my own little island. If I were to set up camp here on my newfound island, which would happen first? Eviction from authorities, or forced evacuation due to flooding? I'll test it and report back here later.
DJI_0002-HDR.jpg

This was an interesting area... just hundreds of miles of pines on perfectly flat land in upstate Sumter National Forest. This is only an hour's drive from the mountainous rainforests of the Southern Appalachians where I spend most of my time; but it's a completely different world down here.
DJI_0015-HDR.jpg

Looking down on a swampy area of Sumter National Forest
DJI_0004-HDR-2.jpg

Flying over the ocean. Lots of dolphins to see... if Dtube ever starts working I might share those videos.
DJI_0127.jpg

My own private pond in the middle of nowhere. I spent most of a day taking underwater videos, looking for alligators, snapping turtles, and other underwater life. Lots of curious large mouth bass appeared in the underwater footage.
DJI_0066-HDR.jpg

Looking down on the peninsula
DJI_0017-HDR.jpg

Swampy inlet aerial
DJI_0005-HDR.jpg

Crabby behind
DSC_0231-2.jpg

Oily-looking 'gator swamp
DSC_0128.jpg

Sort:  

Love the steal shots . Never had the time to explore South Carolina .

Those are some nice shots. Why don't you try to combine them into an article or Dtube video detailing your trip some more, I'm sure this would constitute really good content ;)

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation 195!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.


@ocd now has a witness. You can vote for @ocd-witness with SteemConnect or on Steemit Witnesses to help support other undervalued authors!


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55400.25
ETH 2294.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33