Is Ginger The New Black? Lavender Beard Adventure — collaboration with @wingz

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Hello again Steemit world!

Wow! What a warm welcome I’ve received after making my first blog post live week ago. Thanks everyone for your kind words!

Today I want to show you an outcome of my photoshoot with @wingz. I invited him to model for me as I am taking part in a photo competition. This is also how my adventure with Steemit started. You can read more about it here .   

I missed this photo competition last year as I found out about it after the deadline. I knew I need to make it this year and I had to make sure to come up with some original content. I wanted to take pictures of a male model first of all, as there are too many females already photographed for this contest. I’ve invited @wingz as I thought his ginger beard would be perfect contrast with the purple lavender field. Moreover, I think his physical appearance is characteristic and stands out on the pictures. I still needed and idea how I can surprise my audience. And then I had my eureka moment ‘why not combing ginger with lavender?!’…  


Here’s how the photoshoot turned out: 



Lavender is out of focus as I wanted to draw attention mainly to the model and not having purple colour dominating the picture.



I've zoomed in making the details and textures to stand out.



This is one of those pictures when you a spot a moment worth capturing. I liked how @wingz was busy buttoning up his shirt and not looking into the camera.



I frame it that way to show model's profile and so that I can draw attention to lavender flowers sticking out of the pipe and the beard.  Blue sky emphasizes violet and ginger colours and adds overall harmony to the picture.



My idea was to emphasize model's characteristic appearance and get that vintage look going on by using old film camera.



I framed this picture that way on purpose. Normally eyes are the first point of attention when looking at the picture. I wanted the viewer to focus on the beard only.



I was shooting from above as thought it would help to reflect the relaxed and tranquil atmosphere of Mayfield Lavender fields.


Things I’m happy about: 

· Ginger and violet colours turned out to be a perfect contrast, as I initially pictured it in my head.

 · Plain clothing that I’ve picked was spot on. It makes the beard and lavender to stand out.

 · Photography props – I’ve bought a wooden pipe and had vintage Kodak Instamatic 100 camera – that I thought will add edginess to model’s distinctive looks.   



Points to consider:

 · Clothing – you can advise on what your model can wear if you have certain idea for a photoshoot, but always make sure it’s something he/she feels comfortable in.

 · Photo props – don’t overdo it, choose an item that you associate a model with or compliments him/her.  In that case as a main prop I’ve chosen a pipe as I know @wingz likes to smoke his electronic cigarette.   



What to improve: 

· Plan ahead and add extra time for travelling to the location shooting. We had some adventures getting to lavender field.

 · It’s always good to do some research for example model poses. I found it useful as don’t do photoshoots with models often. Will definately look for more info on that topic.

 · Practice practice practice – grab your camera and get snapping. Practice makes perfect!


 And first and most of all, have fun and enjoy yourself.  



 P.S. I always like to have that backstage picture taken. For me selfie with my model works perfect and it's a great way to capture a memory of what great time we had shooting. I think I’ll make it a tradition! In case they become famous one day? ;)  



Model: @wingz 

Photography and styling: @justyna 

Location: http://www.mayfieldlavender.com/   



Hope you'll enjoy.

Love,

Justyna


 @jamtaylor I'd like to win the KelbyOne 1 Month Membership!   Pretty please :)

Sort:  

Hello justyna, we would like to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiave. We are currently in alpha testing, if you would like more info join robinhood chat on steemit.chat or pm @repholder.

Nicely done - Keep on Steeming!

Hi @robinhoodwhale that's great and thanks. Will drop you message on chat!

Great pics, post and blog... Good Luck @Justyna I hope you win the challenge.

Thanks for sharing and taking time to breakdown everything the way you did... kudos to @wingz for getting in on the action and showing some beard action. I like how ya didn't hold back from being goofy with the beard itself.

Cheers

Thank you @mrwang
Really glad you like it and thanks for comment. I hope the post was worth waiting for :)

This looks like bloody fun. Enjoyed this post immensily

It sure was! Happy you're enjoyed the post.

Those are some amazing pictures. And what an epic beard! :)

Thank you @menta :]

This will trend for sure.. Well done girl! awesome job!

Thank you @skapaneas !!

Lol... well there's my anonymity gone!

Haha, great fun. The whole experience was great... a rare blazing hot day, the smell of the lavender... oh and the lavender cider and ice cream! I slept well that night :)

Goodbye anonymity.. welcome fame and groupies! :)
It was fun indeed, thanks for modelling.
And apparently lavender stresses out men, you're proving that theory wrong :)

really? Never heard of that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63162.76
ETH 3063.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85