United States Transportation Museum

in #photography5 years ago

As we get closer to leaving Virginia, I was shocked that in our two years here we did not take our son to the United States Army Transportation Museum. Whats worse is the fact that I drive by this place every morning as I drive to work.
As he loves any vehicle (the bigger the better) I knew that he would love the Transportation Museum!!

The whole time we where there, there were Soldiers visiting, in uniform. I guess there were going to Advanced Individual Training (AIT), which is a second phase after Basic Training. AIT trains Soldiers to do their job. Anyway, the point of this fact was just to explain that my son was nervous and scared they whole time. Every time a Soldier came near him, he would stick close to me and in the following pictures you can see the pictures where he is nervous.

L1003301
HOOA! AIT Transportation Museum!

L1003305
My son was ecstatic when he saw the old Ford.

L1003310
Instead of the camera, my son would rather keep tabs of people around him. He took General Mattis' quote to heart "Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everybody you meet"

L1003313
Attention!!! My son says this to me every time I come back from home, it was cute to see him do it to a mannequin.

L1003315

L1003322

L1003327
You can see in these three photos that Liam is full on nervous. This was due to the fact that some Soldiers walked into the other side of the room.

L1003325
Liam on the lookout!! As we walked up to the sentry post, Liam decided he wanted to climb up the side in order to get a better view!

L1003349

L1003331
The museum has a walkway out to some old railroad tracks and old trains. Anyway these photos were my favorite of the day! Very old school and a very different feel in monochrome.

L1003358

L1003369
Of course I can't go anywhere without buying my son a souvenir, and we finished up the day outside!
All in all this was a great place to chill and kill some time with a two year old. It is very kid friendly and quiet. There are a ton of vehicles to look at and it is very informative, especially if you are interested in military history!

Until next time! Please feel free to let me know if you guys see any way to improve my photos and please leave remarks on what you liked and what could use some practice!!

Sort:  

Hi @justicerho, welcome to Steemit. This a beautiful post and Liam is so cute. I love the bonding between the two of you, and your love for your family that you have articulated through your photos . Hopefully will continue to see more from you.

By the way, I'm part of the @SteemitWorldmap curation team and it would be great to see your travel posts on the map. You can find out more about it on http://steemitworldmap.com. Just click on the 'code' at the bottom of the map and follow the instructions or check out the FAQ to get your post on the map.

If you have any questions either about the SteemitWorldMap or Steemit in general, don't hesitate to drop me a message.

Is that at Ft. Eustis, Va.? I was there years ago if it is. There was a phrase that the letters of EUSTIS spell out that Army guys and gals used to kid and laugh about. Can you guess it? I'll give you the first two: Even Uncle have fun! :)

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Very nice work!
Manually curated by @free-reign.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Liam is too adorable :D Love these photos and it's absolutely gorgeous that he loves all those displays :D :D :D I remember going to museums as a kid too, and even if they are not the best kinds of museums, for a kid, such a place can leave a very lovely memories :D

Final picture is too cute! He loves his souvenir, to be sure :D :D :D

What fun outing! Your son is unbelievably cute! It looks like he had a great time, in spite of being a little nervous about the soldiers. I would visit that museum if I didn't live on the other side of the country!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83