I made pinhole cameras with a coffee can and a box and developed these prints in my bathroom!

A few years ago I found out about the concept of pinhole cameras. For those of you who haven't heard of them it's basically like a super old school camera, essentially just a box, with a small pinhole lense, hence the name. Instead of using film you use photo paper, which takes a much longer exposure time. Depending on the light it can be from 30 seconds to a few hours.

I rigged up a small darkroom in my bathroom. It takes a bit of work but overall it's not too hard. Keeping out all the extraneous light is the hardest part.

Below is a collection of photos I've taken with the two cameras I made. I unfortunately can't post photos of the actual cameras because they are lost in storage but they aren't that pretty anyways!

This first image is a self-portrait. The furthest left is the negative, then I made contact prints with some glass and a lightbulb. The middle print turned out too light so I made a second one which was a bit better. It was a cloudy day, exposure time was about one minute.

20170626_105412-01.jpeg

This was taken at an art gallery during a show. I put the camera up on a mezzanine and left it there for a few hours while people milled around. The black cloud you can see on the left side is the people, pretty cool!

20170626_105519-01.jpeg

This was a picture of some buildings. I used to live in a pretty industrial area so this is what I looked at everyday. There's not a lot of detail, I think they look cool though.

20170626_105551-01.jpeg

Here are some tractors that belonged to my landlord. I took these with the coffee can. You can tell because there's a fish eye effect happening. I gave the positive print (for the one on the right) to him though so I don't have it anymore.

20170626_105628-01.jpeg

I think this was the very first photo I took. I was totally winging it at that point and didn't expose the image for long enough and it's pretty blah. Looks like it's from an old ghost story or something.

20170626_105657-01.jpeg

I was pleased with this one, it's slightly overexposed but looks pretty neat. The results always look kind of creepy.

20170626_105736-01.jpeg

I took this one with the coffee can, it's an abandoned building. I think I gave the print to someone because I could only find the negative :/

20170626_105813-01.jpeg

This is one of my favorites! It was really windy and I put a rock on the camera to keep it still but it shook like crazy during the exposure time. It looks very abstract, I may incorporate this into another art piece!

20170626_105834-01.jpeg

I jumped in front of the camera for this one thinking I'd look kind of ghostly but I guess I didn't stand there long enough because I'm almost totally invisible. Oops, lesson learned.

20170626_105907-01.jpeg

This is a car, I made a darker print but I gave it away so this is all I've got.

20170626_105956-01.jpeg

This is a negative of a landscape taken on the side of a canal. I can't find the print but I like the negative, it has a very peaceful and minimalist quality to it.

20170626_110015-01.jpeg

I'm kind of kicking myself for not properly trying any double exposures. Looking at these again is giving me a hankering to pull them from storage and give it another go. The experience was really special, there's something fun about not having a viewfinder and only seeing what you captured after you stick them in the developing fluid. It's kind of like taking photos with a blindfold on.

I can take much clearer and better phots with my digital camera but I never would have taken these. The abstract and ghostly quality makes this feel like a completely different art form. I highly recommend giving it a go, and if you do please tag me, I want to see :)

Sort:  

Nice blog :)

Thanks yours is pretty sweet too! I see you make stuff with polymer clay, I haven't sculpted anything in forever but it's so much fun!

I think these are awesome photos. If I had it my way, I'd have a darkroom in my home as well. Please post more film photos if you find them, and try the double exposures for sure, that would be so cool!

Me too, I would love a real darkroom, mine was kind of slipshod and cobbled together, lol, but I would really love to do more. I feel like my current experience would help me do a better job this time around!

Eek! Something about these are sooooo spooky, but I can't stop staring! Well done, and developing in the bathroom can't be easy so props for that!

Yeah they are spooky, they remind me of this book for some reason:

This is a better illustration :

I think you should contact Mr. Schwartz and see if he wants to buy them for his next book! 😂

^o^ good idea! I don't even know if he still writes books

Yep. Definitely not sleeping tonight 🙃

I love the feel these photos have - like they're lost in time.
Btw, I found you via #womenofsteemit and am following you now! :)

Cool! I've only been here for a few days but I'm loving all these communities, cheers!

Outstanding photos! I may try painting in my bathroom. ;-)

Haha, thank you so much, it may not be the best for painting though, maybe in the tub?

This is awesome! What a cool way to capture moments!

"Looking at these again is giving me a hankering to pull them from storage and give it another go. " - DO IT! :P

Thanks for the encouragement!

Very cool, I particularly liked the car and the ghost like images. The coffee can ones seemed to jump out at me as more interesting, perhaps its the fisheye.

Have an upvote!

The coffee can ones were great, the only problem was the perspective it had. The few times I set it on the ground half the picture ended up being pavement, lol. There was a lot of trial an error.

Need a tripod made out of sticks!

Cinder blocks, picnic tables, garbage cans, everything can be a tripod! A stick tripod would look pretty fresh though!

I just think it matches the 'home made' theme of the coffee tin camera! \o/

If I make one I'll tag you when I post it ;-)

\o/ thanks! <3

I like your creativity and also the results. I agree that today's point and shoot digital cameras are good for reproduction but not as good as the old manual jobs that required artist input on speed and whole size. I will follow you. Come follow me as I am an old time artist and have done my share of photography. I will post some of my experimental stuff soon. Meanwhile ART-ON!!!

Yes post some experimental stuff! Following and thanks for the comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65845.60
ETH 3304.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69