Photography: My First Solo Wedding

in #photography7 years ago

This fall I shot my first solo wedding. I was a little nervous going into it because until this point I had always had a second shooter or been a second shooter. I was actually pleasantly surprised at how easy it was to shoot by myself, the only thing that was harder was the family pictures- usually the second shooter prepares the next shot ahead of time.

I don’t do many weddings at all so I rented a second camera and some flash equipment from a friend for the day. Having two camera bodies is a non negotiable when shooting a wedding. Cameras are reliable overall but if yours breaks or malfunctions during a wedding and you don’t have a backup you’re in big trouble. I’m glad I did have that second camera because my Fuji was giving me write errors at the beginning of the day. I eventually figured out that my SD card type wasn’t compatible with Fuji for some reason. Once I figured this out and switched cards I was good to go.

I borrowed a Canon 6d, a long sigma zoom lens, and a wide angle Rokinon along with several flashes and triggers.

We got lucky because some clouds came through just as we started taking portraits. We weren’t in the best location because there was no shade in sight. The second picture is from this session.

It’s a great idea to plan for a few minutes at sunset to take a couple golden hour shots. I was really happy with how this first shot turned out.

The third shot is of the ceremony. The lighting in the Church was pretty poor and the ceiling was painted black- making bounce flash impossible. I just had to use tha ambient light which looks okay, but not great.

C6EC72E4-C5D4-4704-9486-CF0EA630B5E4.jpeg

59C86775-2712-43F0-ADFB-4AE50FB2F830.jpeg

A7D4A05A-0EC4-473B-9000-1B2FD0D2DE61.jpeg

All of these shots were taken with the 6d. I love my fuji but a true SLR is better in professional settings from what I’ve found.

Give me a follow if you like what you see, I’ll be updating regularly!

Sort:  

Heart warming

Thanks! And thanks for the resteem!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #goldenhourphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Monday.

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 18:02:18
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 49.13/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

congratulation

u did well as solo pgotographer

Nicely done! Congrats on shooting your the wedding as the only shooter! :D

Great work getting out there and shooting your first wedding solo! It's always a nerve wracking experience but every wedding you shoot makes the next one so much easier! A few things I'd note from reading the post -

Flash - Fantastic to have and great to know how to use properly, it's a skill that can be a huge part of your work or a tiny one, but either way there will be instances where it's an absolute necessity, especially if you find yourself shooting really high end weddings (I've shot nearly 300 weddings and the really high end ones still get me a bit nervous!) I'd recommend starting with something like a Godox or Yongnuo flash and some wireless triggers (We pay about £40 for triggers and about £50 for a flash, we each have 3 flashes and 4 triggers on a wedding day) We actually still use Yongnuo flashes over Canon ones purely because we work weddings! Drunk people and light stands often don't mix,not a problem when it's only £90 worth of kit on the line but I wouldn't fancy chucking a £400 flash up there! Also I'm a stickler for manual. That means full manual on camera and flash, no need for eTTL, anything automatic removes an element of control!

One more thing I'd note is that as much as flash is important, get used to working with ambient light as much as possible! There will be plenty of times in weddings (especially ceremonies) where you won't be allowed to use flash, that's why flash should really always be the fallback rather than the first choice.

The 6d is a fantastic camera for weddings, low light AF is among the best there is and the weight of it is pretty similar to some of the bigger Fuji's!

Good luck with the weddings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64629.11
ETH 2670.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81