First Day in Kurdistan Pt 2 - Kurdish Picnic

in #photography7 years ago

Click Here to See Part One

Picnics in Kurdistan are no joke, and our first day there we were able to go to one.
In Islam, Fridays are somewhat analogous to a Christian Sunday. In Kurdistan, Friday is the only day where everyone is expected to be at the mosque for prayer, while the rest of the week is is seen more as an optional thing. One thing that's pretty interesting though is that going on a picnic and skipping the Friday service is completely acceptable.

A Kurdish picnic is nothing like a western picnic though. The young men often go out into the country the night before to stake out and claim the best spots, and the next morning the whole family joins. These picnics are all day affairs, it's common to have two full meals, snacks throughout, and dancing and games in between.

Here are some pictures showing what they entail:
.
.
.

This is actually my brother Aaron, who we were visiting. He can almost pass as a Kurd with that mustache!
DSCF3904.jpg

There are no rules in Kurdistan about men and women interacting in public, but it is normal for a natural segregation to occur.
DSCF3795.jpg

Just like in the US, the main time a man is expected to do the cooking is at a cookout. Chicken or beef kebab is the go to meal.
DSCF3801.jpg

Backgammon (the game on the back our chess boards) is the go to game in Kurdistan.
DSCF3804.jpg

Here's a group of guys playing cards. They would usually bet 1000 dinar (about $1) on each game.
DSCF3815.jpg

Kurdish dancing is... interesting. The most common dance involves linking pinkies and doing a very simple step over and over again. One dance with the same dance step would last over a half hour sometimes.
DSCF3849.jpg

Here's our picnic location.
DSCF3862.jpg

Carrie and I had to get a photo.
FullSizeRender 2.jpg

All of these photos (except the one I'm in) were taken with a FujiFilm X-T1 and Fujinon 35mm f/2 lens.

Stay tuned for more pictures of the trip!

Sort:  

which time you was there ? I was there just in 2013 for 2 weeks in Sülemaniye. Very nice the places and the people are very open and friendly. Of course I was the only western person around my place. Looking forward to your pictures

I was there this May. One of our friends there is from Suli.
A couple times we had strangers stop us to invite us in for tea, super welcoming people.
PS: love your page, I followed.

thanks @jrue, I am follow you too. It was still very much Army there now? At my time there was every some kilometers.... But I feel very save that time there and I hope, that I can go and visit the place and the people again once..

Yeah there are still lots of checkpoints along the road.
It felt very safe when I was there too, but unfortunately with the referendum a few months ago international air travel to Kurdistan is canceled for the time being.

Great photos, and what a beautiful post. Sure makes get togethers look real and fun.

Many thanks!
Your page looks super interesting, I gave you a follow!

Great stuff. I especially like the pic of the two guys playing cards, really nicely edited!

Thanks!
Your page looks great. I'm subscribing!

I was in search of the Kurdish community on steemit when I stumbled upon your post. Great pictures and I'm glad you enjoyed your time Kurdistan. Thanks for sharing. Have you met any Kurds on steemit ?

"Community" is the same no matter where you go.
Thanks for the reminder.

Wow what a place! Thank you for sharing @jrue !

Wowww..Thats a Gorgeous place..I'd love to go there once..Thanks for sharing @jrue. Loved it.

Definitely worth the trip! Unfortunately the area always seems to be at war, making visiting harder.

Really interesting post. Thanks for all the information. Looking forward to hearing more about your trip.

Thanks!

Thank you for sharing. It must have been quite the cultural experience to share with the Kurdish people. How lovely of them to have shown you their traditions and culture.

And great photos I'm not sure if you edited them or if they are straight out of the camera but the color looks great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60450.32
ETH 2604.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60