First Day in Kurdistan - Part 1 - Scenery

in #photography7 years ago

This summer my wife and I traveled to Soran, in Iraqi Kurdistan to visit my brother who was living there helping with refugee resettlement.

We flew into Erbil around 10:30 PM and took a 2 hour taxi trip up the mountains to where we would be staying for the next few weeks. Our first full day there we had an all day Kurdish picnic. My next post will be detailing the picnic and the traditions surrounding it.

All of these pictures were taken a short hike from our picnic spot.

Here's a panorama of the major mountains.
DSCF3827.jpg

It's pretty common to see sheep or goat herds crossing roads in Kurdistan.
DSCF3843.jpg

We were getting there just at the beginning of the dry/hot season. Apparently things are quite a bit more lush in the spring.
DSCF3865.jpg

Sort:  

Reminiscent of the Teletubbies village.

Haha, I can see it.

When I was a soldier in Korea, I had a mission to dispatch from Erbil. In my memory, Arbil had few trees and grass.It is a different landscape from Erbil.

Yeah Erbil is down out of the mountains which make it quite a bit hotter than Soran. The climates are quite a bit different.

Straight from part 2 of this post. Thats some beautiful scenery. Really love family get together, reminds me of when I was a kid.Thanks @jrue

Amazing view.. U enjoyed a lot hmmmm..

Yep! Stay tuned for more Kurdistan posts!

It's really cool place..

So good to be close to nature. isn't it?
This looks like the ideal picnic spot.
Beautiful Pictures.

I am planning a Trip to Kurdistan. These awesome Pictures makes me want to go to Kurdistan as soon as possible. Thank you for sharing your impressions. Keep up the good work.

Let me know if you have any questions!

How long do you stay in Kurdistan ? Do you make a round trip ?
My Trip is in process of planning, so I would appreciate if you keep your blog updated so I can see your favorite spots :) How is it about the safety there ? Can you walk totally free or do you have to be careful ?

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 13:52:25
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 74.63/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Amazing! Kurdistan gets so much rain in the Winter, that it remains green even in Summer!

Snow too!
At the end of the dry season there is very little green though.

I didn't know that.

first part of the travel story is very interesting.

Many thanks!

Nice place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60522.54
ETH 2602.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64