Hello Steemit!

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hi guys! Wow, this first post is more difficult to craft than I imagined. After more than a week of getting my account, I'm still kinda stuck. Exactly like this...

procrastination

OK, let me try.

I'm a father of two young girls living in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, happily minding my own business when my good friend Khim Goh @khimgoh (wait does tagging even work here? ok it does. i can see it in the Preview) introduced me to Steemit. First honest thought - what a awful name. I mean like whaaaat? Did you know what we boys called an erection when we were high school kids? Well now you know and you can't get it of your head.

i copied this from worldofbuzz who copied it from God know where

Anywho, after hearing her rave about making money out of making content (and after much scepticism), I saw her posts with all the dollar signs and I thought "Man... it took me 10 years to see USD100 in my blogspot." Yes, I earned an amazing 1 cent everyday there. Don't believe me? See below on how awesome I am. But perhaps I should channel that energy here instead...

I no bluff u

Back to me... I'm a Product Manager for a large web company by day, and a Photographer when I feel like making a few bucks to fund for my waaaaay too expensive photography gear. Speaking of which, check this out:

some of me preciouzzzz

This is my humble-brag (I mean bag) lah.

Dude. I accidentally posted this earlier on halfway typing! Potong stim wei...

Back to my humble-bag. The photo shows my most favourite bag in the whole wide world and together with a bunch of my travel gear. My most beautiful Fujifilm X-T2 with three prime lenses (still waiting for my new Laowa 9mm f2.8). My Mavic Air with some accessories and my iPad Mini 4.

I talk so much but didn't show any photos of my own yet... OK here's one:

didn't win leh

This was a photo I created for a competition but lost. Sad. So I show it all to you instead to enjoy.

Don't like it? Not your to your taste? Perhaps something up there like this?
https://kuula.co/post/7lyLX (too bad Steemit doesn't support 360 images yet).

OK, if this Steem thing is gonna work for me, I'd better make some money. So can help like (I mean upvote? sorry still noob) me and follow me? It'll motivate me to write more and I'll throw in really good tips, tricks, gear review and stuff that I've learn through my 8 years as a photographer and 37 years as a human being.

Cheers and talk to ya'll soon!

Sort:  

Hello, Joshua, and Welcome to Steemit.

The way to make some decent money on this platform is to write and create some high-quality content that others will read and appreciate.

With your various interests, you will most likely find that there are several topics that you can write about. ☺


Below are a few basic points of advice re posting on Steemit.
1 – Longer posts are more lucrative than short posts. If you make a post of 20–30 paragraphs, it's more likely to earn rewards.
2 – Include some photos, images or graphs, to complement the text.
3 – Make sure the text and photos are formatted properly, so that your post looks attractive and appealing.
4 – Be yourself.
5 – Be interesting and informative.
6 – Create quality content. Steemit is intended to be a platform of quality content. (You will see many insignificant posts with meager content and no quality. Most of those of posts [called “shitposts” by Steemit whale Stellabelle] will earn few rewards and soon pass into oblivion.)
7 – Get online and start curating. Read various posts, comment on those posts you find interesting, and upvote those posts. That’s the best way to attract followers.

Hope this helps for now. Good luck, and Full Steem Ahead!

wow, great tips @majes.tytyty and thanks for the vote! Really appreciate them!

@joshuakhoo, let me be the first to welcome you to Steemit! Congratulations on making your first post! I gave you a $.02 vote! Would you be so kind as to follow me back in return?

Welcome, informative article, good start, keep it up! I follow you, I hope you will follow me. We will develop the community together! 😉

Hello! Welcome I invite you to our discord chat. we help new users. if you want to come, you will be welcome https://discord.gg/h6ykdsu

Welcome to Steemit Josh
I lived the strip drawing and I think its great to do this here aswell.
I saw your #introduceyourself and after reading its nice to meet you, I know its weird in the beginning but in time its Getting better.

Blogging thats what its all about on this platform and this blockchain. Blogging is it, blog on and you could be succesfull! 🤛 and you could earn money. 💴💸💰
I love blogging ❤️ Thats why I am, where I am today on the steemit platform.
But be carefull with all your passwords !! Never give those up !!
For safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11. The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and free, go cheque it out. I wish you good luck with steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands

thanks for the tips @brittandjosie. really appreciate them! :)

I am glad , good luck on the Steem highway

Loading...

Hi @joshuakhoo, welcome to Steemit! This is an awesome site and a cool community. It might take a little bit to figure out what to do and how things work but before you know it you'll be addicted! Cheers

thanks for the welcome @exxodus!

Be advised @joshuakhoo

The comment from @exxodus has been identified as being copy/pasted comment spam intended to trick their targets into upvoting them. Please, refrain from doing so. They have been reported to @steemcleaners and we are giving users a heads-up.
We have identified 108 comments identifed as having a 75% similarity. If there were rewards on the spam, I have used up to a full weight downvote to neutralize them! Please, feel free to contact @anthonyadavisii if you have any questions about this process.

Welcome, @joshuakhoo! Great to have you here, friend :) Enjoy the platform! Followed ;)

thanks @wild-forest, followed you back! ;)

Welcome to TeamMalaysia and Steemit @joshuakhoo, glad to have you onboard with us.

Yes tagging works in Steemit, just to be sure the username is correctly tag 😊.

Hey Josh welcome to Steemit!! Down the rabbit hole! Enjoy the ride! 100% upvote from me!

Thanks for introducing me to the platform @khimgoh! By the way, what's this upvote weightage??

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61195.86
ETH 3009.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80