A Week In Madrid, Spain | Day 1 (10 Photos)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography5 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

It is amazing what one can do on a rainy day whilst sightseeing. I think you made a good choice and made the most of it. Better weather would have been more welcome as sight seeing is normally done outside. Madrid is one of the cities I do want to visit at some point along with the rest of Spain.

Thanks, it was a great city, and I'd definitely like to see the rest of Spain as well.

I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have nice weather in Madrid but I must say that you took it as an advantage and took great photos. The dark clouds give them a dramatic look and the buildings pop up in front of the images. It's also nice to visit some museums and learn a bit so this gloomy weather might be good as well :)

Thank you for sharing and congratulations on your curie vote!

Have a lovely day!

Thanks, Madrid has more than enough to give you on a rainy day, or days for that matter. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @joshman! I've never been to Madrid but I knew it's a beautiful city with a very old and rich cultural history and that has a lot to offer to tourists.
The weather can make tourists life harder but you're right, museums are the best choice when the weather is not nice. The park looks very beautiful, I guess I would stay there for hours, photographing every little detail I can see. The fountain reminds me of those days and the people that were living back then. It must have been nice for aristocrats, not so much for the poor though.
The monument of Alphonso XII is impressive and I'm glad the ruins of the church is kept in a good condition. It would have been nice to see the whole church in its original state but i think I'm asking too much, especially after what Spain went through over the years.
The skull is a bit scary but still interesting.
Thank you for posting these photos, it was nice to see them.

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it. There are so many places in Europe that are largely irrelevant now, but were once seats of great power. Vienna is another great example.

I wouldn't call them irrelevant, I believe those places are still very important to us people. These cities are part of our cultural heritage and represent the past, history.

That's why I said 'largely irrelevant' and not just plain 'irrelevant'. It might be language nuance, but there is a difference.

Thanks. I appreciate the opportunity to explain my intent. I like that there are so many mature discussions going on here.

Steemit is a great place, you can find like-minded people here and you can choose who to associate with :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Much appreciated!

Hi joshman,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks again to the Curie community!

Hiya, @lizanomadsoul here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #499.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Although the weather was not good, you sure have taken some nice shots @joshman. Madrid is not so far from The Netherlands, at least it is within Europe :) I am planning to visit Madrid some time in the future. Just came back from a 10 days Austria trip, so need to slow down a bit :D
Thanks for sharing!

Thanks, I was just in Vienna a few months ago. It was great too!

Yes I am also impressed by the beauty of the city.

Man, so many fascinating places here!
Beautiful first picture. I guess erecting those majestic buildings was the least thing an empire such as Spain could do.
So much history, art, and creative effort put in all these places. Even under bad weather it must be a treat to walk along these well-kept monuments.

hi @joshman
despite the rain you did a nice report on Madrid. It is a city too imposing for my taste, and then the sea is missing. What do you think about it? Did you go for vacation? Have you visited other Spanish cities?
Congratulations and thank you for sharing with u

Thanks, I thought it was a great way to experience a large part of the world's history. It was basically a vacation. The only other place in Spain I had been too previous was the Island of Ibiza, but I don't think that really counts! ;-)

When someday I can travel far. The first thing I will do is go out and take pictures. It is one of my dreams, apart from trying exotic foods. This type of post I like a lot. especially because of the amount of data they contain. but above all I like the fact that the writer is dedicated to selling us the trip, making one as a reader move to that place. well done friend.

Thanks, I'm glad you enjoyed it and best of luck on your future travels!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62186.49
ETH 2417.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56