Weekly Homestead Photography Contest Entry

in #photography7 years ago

A Short Hike To A View

10409678_10203423294075997_7163974026986374709_n.jpg

Two and a half decades ago, my best friend and I carved out a trail system on the back of his parents property. One of these trails left the back edge of the orchard, cut through second growth Douglas Firs, turned into switchbacks on a steep loose shale cliff side and ended at this look out. 20 years later I purchased this same property from his parents and to my surprise the trail was not only still there but had been expanded and improved upon by his father and their neighbor. Today, my family and I get to enjoy a quick hike to this breathtaking view from the back end of the property that we are homesteading, along a trail who's foundation was laid by my friend and I 25+ years ago.

Learn more about me by reading my Introduction Post

Sharing is Caring.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @jonpetrich! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Beautiful view. What a wonderful place to call home(stead)

I count myself lucky every day :)

Is there nothing better than having a homestead that has significance?
We bought an acreage that was owned on my mother's side of the family.
Very excited to keep it in the Uke family! :D

Is so true! The connection is unlike most anything else.

what a lovely view - looks like a nice place to have a picnic, after hiking up to it.

Indeed! Plenty to forage for on the way up during the right season also :)

like blackberrries?! and/or huckleberries?!

A great story to go with a great picture! Being able to look over your entire property with the view of all the trees and mountains while overlooking the body of water. Great Job!

Awesome view. I like that 20 years later the trails were still there, kept up and improved...that probably meant so much to you when you bought!

Following you (found you on #homesteadphotography, ysee people do look at others posts in these contests!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67749.41
ETH 3262.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64