THE WASP FAMILY(IN OUR DOOR FRAME)

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Between our house door and screen door, there lives a wasp. She moved in at the beginning of spring.

She started building a home for her soon to be family there. After a short while, the eggs she had laid hatched and she had her family.

Since then, the nest has grown considerably. She now has a total of around 7 or 8 kids. They go out and collect food and water for "mom" and for the new babies.



inCollage_20180827_102440016.jpg

In this picture, one of the kids have returned with some food(some type of insect) for breakfast. Everybody gets busy. They eat a little bit as they start feeding the babies inside the nest. It's neat to watch them dip their heads into the holes to feed the babies.

KIMG4183.JPG


A FUN FACT

Did you know wasps are like butterflies? They start life out as an egg that hatches into a worm-like insect(like a caterpillar). It will live inside of one of the holes inside the nest. You can see some of them in the picture below.

KIMG4184.JPG

Cute little guys aren't they?


But, now for the amazing part that makes them even more like a butterfly. After a couple weeks of eating, the baby will build a cocoon over the top of her hole...and transform from a worm into a wasp. AMAZING!!!

In the video below, you can see one of the babies building it's cocoon cover. You can also see the big wasps feeding the babies. Check it out, it's pretty neat...and less then a minute long.

I hope everyone enjoyed, and maybe learned something new. Remember, we are all creatures of equal value here. Love everyone as you love yourself. Oh, and keep STEEMING!!!

Sort:  

Do you have a garden?

Nope, no garden. I wish I did. I thought about putting one in this year...but life just got crazy for me to get it done. Is there a reason you ask friend?

Yeah I was wondering why you are so nice to the wasps and didn't try and kill them. I think wasps and yellowjackets are good at pest control. I think yellowjackets are even better than bees since I think they pollinate and attack pests but I'm not 100% sure.

Simply put, we are a lot bigger than they are. But just because of this, doesn't mean that I get to treat them however I want. We all play A role in this place we call Earth. Our creator must have figured that there was a need for wasps. I figure, he must know more than I do. I try not to hurt anything when it can be avoided. Plus, my son really enjoys being able to watch them. I think that he thinks they're neater than I do. But, a couple of my neighbors do have Gardens. So I feel there's a good chance this may be where they are getting their food from.

Very nice response. Our creator knows better.

But of what good will it profit one to kill an insect that has been living a nice life without destrying your property? No gain.

Exactly my dear brother.

I guess you never knew he's fond of animals! Even the snake is one of his favorite.

I admire the mercy you give these creatures. I do the same thing and nobody understands.

Well...I understand, and good for you to show love like that. It's really important, I believe. Thanks for stopping by friend. Also, good to see you back. Where did you go for the past little while?

I was supposed to go to several places but in actuality I didn't go anywhere. I keep falling in and out of ruts. I'm trying to be more active though and do the things I like doing even though that gets hard too. I'm going to try to light up my foundry soon and if the moulds I made work... well I just can't wait to show you once they're done!

I hope it is better for you my dear friend. I hate to hear your down. However I am excited about you getting your Foundry going. Please post when you get things going. And make sure you yell at me so I don't miss it. I'll keep you in my thoughts, and hopefully things will be better soon. Just keep your head up and don't give up. Are you still singing your band?

Thank you for your kind words.
Actually I left the band over some personal issues with two other members. I tried going back at the request of the other members but I still feel out of the loop. No one is giving me any notifications. Oh well. Like my dad always says (except in Spanish), "If they want.."

I would like to join a polka band.

I am so sorry to hear that. It must have happened for a reason. Possibly it is time to move on to bigger better things. By the way I think polka is really neat. I don't know much about it. But there is this...

YES! I actually LOVE the first 23 sec of this song!

Hey brother, I hope your days are getting better and that the silver lining is starting to show through. I just wanted to take a second to inform you about my latest post. It's about apps that pay you out in money.(well the first three I did the post on today pay in cryptos) but I thought you may be interested.

Absolutely, I've learnt a lot.

Seriously, the waps are very wise insects. What a family! I just hope they wont hurt anyone.

They also eat pest insects, which is awesome. And none of us are allergic, so even if we do upset them and get stung, it only hurts for a while.

Oh really? Interesting.

wont the nest become a problem if they grow in numbers?

i am thinking of the same thing ;)

See my response to @leetahsar. I don't think we need to worry. ☺️

I don't think so, it's grown this whole time, and we stop to watch them every day. Evan and I stand within a few inches of them and have never been bothered. We go in and out that door a dozen times a day. I think they are happy where they are and I am more then happy to share my home with such a beautiful animal.

Your thinking is someting out of fictional wordls.

As much as I would want to wish you and these wasps a nice living in your house, but I will tell you.

This will not end well for you unless you do something about it.

Should I kill them with fire?

Not really :D

This would probably burn your house aswell,

Just google the problem.

I have an unused car sitting in my yard and next to its back tire there is a wasp nest. I think my dog went snooping around it as I noticed just above my dogs eye was a little swollen but has since went back to normal.

Ohno! Poor guy. I thought curiosity only gets cats.😁 I'm glad it didn't last to long, him being bothered by it.

Love the fun fact! And nice lectures. Always feels good to learn one or new stuffs everyday.

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm glad you enjoyed. And I tried to learn new stuff every day, and when I can I pass it along. I hope that your weekend is wonderful!

I have been letting the wasps hang out. I did have to get rid of the hornets though. I think I may collect the empty nest for a resin project.

I tagged you here
for some free monster cards but forgot to add your 123 Sorry about that 😞

We use to collect hornet nests as a kid. We would hang them in our houses as decorations. And I'll try to check out your link above after work today. It's okay, you're not the first to forget the 123. And I'm sure you won't be the last. ☺️

Well get over there and I hope you win some cards. The kids may enjoy them if nothing else.

This post received a $0.147 (95.03%) upvote from @upvotewhale thanks to @rentmoney! For more information, check out my profile!

thanks for the tips @johndoer123 i didnt even know what the wasp it is. by the way what a wonderful family you have ..sorry i was late to follow your article because of to busy to care of my little son. and thank yo for the gift you send to me last 4 days..

You are welcome my friend. And of course, thank you for your kind words. It's okay being late, just make sure your boy is okay. Was he sick?

thank you for your kind @johndoer123, Yes! my boy was got caught i dont know where he got this caught. maybe for a rain or something or maybe he infected to his/her cousins.. but no worries he get well soon... thank you for you care god bless you keep safe....

I'm glad to hear that he is better. It's never good to have a sick Child. And of course you are welcome. I hope your day is going well.

thank you for your concern @johndoer123 and yes always my day start with a wonderful sunshine, my son always give a brighter day. hope your day good god bless and thank you..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97