HDR vs HDR

in #photography5 years ago

The first photo is just an eye-catcher and has nothing to do with HDR.

Das erste Foto ist nur ein Blickfang und hat mit HDR nichts zu tun.


❖ click for fullsize view ❖

Canon EOS R | RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM
ISO 100 • f/13 • 2.0 sec • @99 mm

When I was in Slovenia last weekend, I was at the Šunik water grove (Šunik water hurst - Šunikov vodni gaj) in the Lepena Valley. There I saw a small birch grove, through which the first rays of the rising morning sun were shining.

In addition to a "normal" photo I made an attempt of ICM (Intentional Camera Movement), but I did not move the camera, but I have simply zoomed out during the shutter speed of 2 seconds.

Als ich letztes Wochenende in Slowenien war, war ich beim Šunik-Wasserhain (Šunikov vodni gaj) im Lepena Tal. Dort habeich auch ein kleines Birkenwäldchen gesehen, durch welches gerade die ersten Strahlen der aufgegangenen Morgensonne schienen.

Neben einem "normalen" Foto machte ich auch einen Versuch von ICM (Intentional Camera Movement), wobei ich aber nicht die Kamera bewegte, sondern einfach während der Verschlusszeit von 2 Sekunden herausgezoomt habe.

High Dynamic Range vs High Dynamic Range

----- Photoshop HDR Pro -----

❖ click for fullsize view ❖

Canon EOS R | RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM
ISO 100 • f/14 • @24 mm / 5 photos

HDR photos (High Dynamic Range Photos) were very modern some time ago and you could see the most extreme HDR photos everywhere. In my memory, I usually associate HDR images with photos of abandoned places.

I usually take bracketing shots from 3 or more photos and let Lightroom calculate an HDR, which of course does not look like the usual HDR images, but quite normal. With Photoshop you can of course make a "real" HDR from such an exposure series.

I have now made of a total of 5 different exposed photos of the Lepena Brook a "normal" HDR with Lightroom (below) and a HDR image with Photoshop's HDR Pro (above) and I'm curious which photo you like better.

HDR Fotos (High Dynamic Range Fotos) waren vor einiger Zeit sehr modern und man konnte überall die extremsten HDR Fotos sehen. In meiner Erinnerung assoziiere ich HDR Bilder meistens mit Fotos von verlassenen Orten.

Ich mache meistens Belichtungsreihen aus 3 oder auch mehreren Fotos und lasse daraus in Lightroom ein HDR errechnen, das natürlich nicht wie die üblichen HDR Bilder ausschaut. Mit Photoshop kann man aus einer solchen Belichtungsreihe natürlich auch ein "richtiges" HDR machen lassen.

Ich habe nun aus insgesamt 5 verschieden belichteten Fotos des Lepena Baches ein "normales" HDR (unten) und auch ein HDR Bild mit Photoshops HDR Pro (oben) gemacht und bin neugierig, welches Foto euch besser gefällt.

----- Lightroom HDR -----

❖ click for fullsize view ❖

Canon EOS R | RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM
ISO 100 • f/14 • @24 mm / 5 photos

Information

Location / Standort: Šunik water grove on Google Maps
The Šunik water grove
Soča Valley
Soča River / Isonzo (Wikipedia)
ICM
Šunik-Wasserhain
Soča Tal
Soča Fluss / Isonzo (Wikipedia)
ICM

If you like my photos I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or a resteem 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so you do not miss a post from me anymore.

Thank you for visiting my blog,
have a nice evening,
Johann Piber

Photos and Text: Johann Piber
#originalcontent #originalworks #deutsch #austria #steemit-austria

Picture1.png
[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 46.307421 lat 13.668778 long Šunik-water-grove d3scr)

Sort:  

I think there both great, I think I would say I prefer the first one myself manly for the foreground

as you know I do HDR quite often, I hav never bene totally happy with the merges done by wither lightroom or photoshop, I use photo matrix for most of mine, but that said there have been a few updates since i last tried using lightroom or photoshop for merging i may do some tests with them again this weekend and see what I think

BTW i do love the attention grabbing zoom shot I haven’t tried doing that for years

!BEER

!trdo

Yes, JJ, I know, that you do HDR quite often, this is, why I was curious on your comment 😉

Your HDR photos are not so very HDR like my first image - I like your HDR images because of that. Maybe your software does the job better, but I am so used of the Adobe software, that I wouldn't want to change.
I have done such shots before, but never on a tripod - now I begin to like this kind of photography, and I think I will try it more often.

Thanks a lot once again for telling me what you think of my photos, for the !BEER and for the trendo 🙂

I looked agin at the photos andI think the trees are more natural in the bottom one but I do like the foreground rocks and waterfall inthe first one and trust me its not to over done compared to many peoples hDRs when it first started

One thing I do like about photo Ari is you have a lot more control and a bunch of sliders when doing the merge, where as when I tried the adobe ones they gave you no options at all and had to see what it came up with but as I said maybe they have changed I know they are quicker to do with lightroom and photoshop than with photomatix

I only really use my tripod when out in the mornings or evening in Milford, I may have to think about bringing it into the city now that the days are getting shorter

!BEER

Yeah, I know, that this HDR is not like the ones when the HDR hype began - this is, why I do like the photo - I never liked these overdone HDRs.
When you have time, then test Lightroom and Photoshop. In Lightroom you cannot do much, but after merging you can edit the image. In Photoshop you have some sliders, but I didn't play with them.

The Image stabilizer in my camera is very good, but if possible and I have time, I use the tripod, and if there's not enough light in the mornings or in the evenings or in the woods or anywhere else ;)
!BEER

I will do some tests merges this weekend to se if it had changed, maybe even do a post with all three if I remember and aren’t to busy with !BEER

Same on my camera the stabilization is great so if ther eis enough lights fine but the days getting so short now if i want too go for pre work walks i really will need my tripod

OK, I am curious, what you will tell then.
Yes, the mornings are much darker now and the sun rises later. A tripod will be important for sharp photos 🙂👍
!BEER

Lol 😂 nit sure who I would tell but yes something like that and I have a smaller travel tripod which is light and easy to carry

!BEER

OK 👍 I think, we have had the tripod theme before, when you mentioned the new PeakDesign tripod, which looks good and is expensive.
I think, I'll finish this day in a few minutes ... but not without a !BEER

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @tattoodjay, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @johannpiber, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @tattoodjay, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Mucha’s gracias

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @johannpiber, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @tattoodjay, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @johannpiber, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Gracias por la cerveza 😉

Congratulations @tattoodjay, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @johannpiber!
@johannpiber got 6 TRDO & @tattoodjay got 4 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @tattoodjay, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Mit Glueck ein !BEER und ein Upvote..... Grund zur Freude

Dankeschön für das Upvote, und ein !BEER gibt's auch von mir 😉

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @curationvoter, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Das letzt Foto ist perfekt! Und das erste genial🤘
!BEER

Das erste ist Spaß ... fokusiert, abgedrückt und gezoomt 😉

Das letzte gefällt mir auch am besten, aber ich wollte dieses HDR Pro von Photoshop mal ausprobieren und soo schlecht ist es mit ein bisschen Nachbearbeitung ja nicht geworden, aber mein Geschmack waren diese HDR's nie.

Ich danke dir, @tomhall, dafür kriegst auch ein !BEER

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @tomhall, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @johannpiber, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Gràcies per la cervesa 😉

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @tomhall, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

I love the steady zoom out shot on top, I am going to need to try some shots like that one day, if I can ever get used to bringing and using my tripod. On the two HDR photo's, I sort of like the bottom one for the sharpness of the foreground, but I don't like the faded tree look, now on the first I like how crisp and colorful the trees look, but I find the foreground to be a bit smooth flat and dark looking.

That all being said, I think the top one for the tree color. !BEER (looks like you like them) Cheers

Thank you very much, @bashadow 🙂
I have shot such photos many times before, but I didn't like them. This time I used a tripod instead of handholding the camera, and now I like the photo, that came out 🙂
Cool, thank you for explaining why and what you like on the HDR photos. This will help me in future too.
What makes you think, that I like the !BEER ? lol and cheers 😉

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @bashadow, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

upvoted and resteemed
by the
@artmentor

!BEER

Thank you very much for the resteem, @artmentor 🙂
!BEER

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @artmentor, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Mir gefallen alle drei Aufnahmen. Das erste Bild natürlich ein Klassiker der immer wieder zum Spielen einlädt. Das HDR hat wunderbar weiche Übergänge, die deiner Aufnahme einen verträumten Charakter verleit. Das Dritte Bild wirkt am natürlichsten und ist mein persönlicher Favorit.

Dankeschön, @faltermann, das erste ist natürlich nur ein Spaßfoto, aber ich möchte solche ICM Fotos hin und wieder mal ernsthaft probieren.

Ich habe dieses HDR Pro von Photoshop noch nie ausprobiert gehabt und als ich das fertige HDR Bild dann gesehen habe, dachte ich "sofort löschen", aber mit ein bisschen Arbeit schaut es gar nicht sooo schlecht aus ... für ein HDR 😉
Mir persönlich gefällt auch das letzte Bild am besten, eben weil es am "natürlichsten" ist, und so versuche ich auch alle meine Fotos zu bearbeiten - so dass sie noch natürlich wirken und das Bild ziemlich so zeigen, wie ich es dort gesehen habe 🙂 ... aber manchmal übertreibt man halt mit den Reglern auch, weil es so einfach ist 😉
!BEER

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @faltermann, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

PS HDR looks more 'true', LR one looks like more 'nice', i am after LR version :)

We could argue about the "true", because I don't think so, but like you, I prefer the Lightroom version too, so let's stay friends 🙂
Have a !BEER 🙂

let's stay friends, sure! i hope even .. even.... even if we have different opinions, we still can do that !! =)

OK, that makes me happy and I can go for a nice weekend 🙂
!BEER

!BEER

yeah, this weekend should be good. no 3-days-size-rain here, sunny sky! I took camera with me, going to test and probably buy a fish-eye lens today.

Cool, then I wish you happy photographing and a nice weather 🙂
!BEER

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @qwerrie, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @johannpiber, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Спасибо за пиво 😉

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @qwerrie, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @qwerrie, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @johannpiber, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Salamat sa serbesa 😉

Beautiful

Posted using Partiko Android

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @shuvo35, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=johannpiber
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=hdr-vs-hdr


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thank you so much for adding my post to the Steemit Worldmap, @steemitworldmap, I appreciate it.
!BEER

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @steemitworldmap, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63780.55
ETH 2618.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82