Blossoms of Spring / Frühlingsblüten 03: Coltsfoot / Huflattich

in #photography5 years ago

I found these quite fresh little flowers on my walk along the reservoir of the river Drau next to the path.

Diese noch ganz frischen Blümchen habe ich auf meinem Spaziergang am Drau Stausee gleich neben dem Weg gefunden.

Coltsfoot / Huflattich (Tussilago farfara)

2019-03-11-Tussilago-farfara-Coltsfoot-Huflattich-03.jpg
▲click for fullsize view▲

Canon EOS M50 | Canon EF-M 28mm f/3.5 Macro IS STM
ISO 100 • f/5.6 • 1/20 sec • @28 mm

The Coltsfoot (Tussilago farfara) also digs its way through the old autumn foliage into the light at the beginning of spring.

Auch der Huflattich (Tussilago farfara) gräbt sich schon zu Anfang des Frühlings seinen Weg durch das alte Herbstlaub in das Licht.

2019-03-11-Tussilago-farfara-Coltsfoot-Huflattich-01.jpg
▲click for fullsize view▲

Canon EOS M50 | Canon EF-M 28mm f/3.5 Macro IS STM
ISO 100 • f/5 • 1/20 sec • @28 mm

On the Wikipedia page of the flower, I have learned something important that I had not known before:
The large leaves of the coltsfoot, which emerge only after the blooming, are soft hairy underneath and are therefore called hikers toilet paper.

Auf der Wikipedia Seite der Blume habe ich etwas Wichtiges erfahren, das ich bisher noch nicht gewusst hatte:
Die großen Blätter des Huflattichs, die erst nach dem Verblühen der Blüte hervorkommen, sind unterseits weich behaart und werden daher von Naturfreunden auch als Wanderers Klopapier bezeichnet.

2019-03-11-Tussilago-farfara-Coltsfoot-Huflattich-02.jpg
▲click for fullsize view▲

Canon EOS M50 | Canon EF-M 28mm f/3.5 Macro IS STM
ISO 100 • f/5 • 1/25 sec • @28 mm

Info: Coltsfoot Wikipedia Info: Huflattich Wikipedia

If you like my photos I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or a resteem 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so you do not miss a post from me anymore.

Thank you for visiting my blog,
have a nice evening,
Johann Piber

Photos and Text: Johann Piber
#originalcontent #originalworks #deutsch #austria #steemit-austria

Picture1.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you so much, dear @pixresteemer :)

Beautiful. New life between the old leaves.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much, @tijntje 😊

your macro lens is doing wonderful these are such cool shots, and I bet the odd hiker has been glad to come across that plant if they didnt pack all the essentials

Thank you :)))
My macro lens and me, both of us are now fully motivated and want to see a few macros of you again 😉

I cannot remember using these special leaves, but when we children were playing in the forest, we used big leaves, if it was too late to run home ;)

well todays weather is not going to be good for getting out for photos a little snow ( just a dusting) and heavy winds and rain but hopefully tomorrow I may be able to get out and about

and yes I have used leaves for that purpose before but not sure if it was those ones

It's warm here - about 19-20 degrees Celsius - and the sky is cloudless, but the weather forecast says that it's getting very cold in the next days - we'll see.

I think, we all have used some leaves for such purposes sometime ;)

today were hitting a toasty 8 Celcius tomorrow wit may raise to 10 LOL i wish we had your temps already but they will come soon enough :)

Yes, at the moment the temperature goes up and down here and also over the big pond, but soon the fickle weather will really change to a warm spring, hopefully before te summer ;)

Ohh yes the weather sometime I swear things it is a roller coaster, but soon it will be riding up to nice warm temperatures

Let's wait and see how the April weather will be like. A few years ago we had half a meter of snow in town at the end of April.

beautiful flower " mother and stepmother"

Thank you @sergey44, "mother and stepmother" - I didn't know that 😊

Beautiful pictures of the plant, which is well known to me since childhood. I collected its leaves, dried and handed over to the pharmacy. Also, the leaves we use for culinary purposes, I wrote recently about it. Indeed, it is strange that a flower appears before the first leaf. The sun is low and the plant saves chlorophyll. No leaves, less consumption. I think that's the reason. Spring in your photos is beautiful, my friend @Johannpiber!

Thank you so much again, @barski 😊
I know this plant also since I was a child, but we have not done anything with it or with its leaves, I think. I have seen your post, but I didn't remember it, when I posted my photos today.
Your reasoning for the later emerging leaves seems plausible :)

Hikers toilet paper! That made me smile : )

I can remember that as children in the forest, we used large leaves for such purposes 😉


You just planted 0.10 tree(s)!


Thanks to @artmentor

We have planted already
7794.94 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 24491.88
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Thank you 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much, dear @artmentor 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56477.82
ETH 2390.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33