Our Bike Ride in the Jungle

DFD7A8BD-5F0B-41F0-B546-329E5F3ADD04.jpeg
I sold my bike to my buddy Mike before I left for Bangkok for $50. Luckily for me, he still had it and sold it back to me. The day I got it back he invited me on a natural bike ride that few tourist ever see. After not riding for three months and feeling out of shape I wasn’t sure if I would be able to keep up.

BF039615-764D-4067-9E47-D138D3A3D08B.jpeg
I was so happy to get this bike back. I had a lot of great memories riding it around Luang Prabang. Unfortunately I got super drunk and got my ass kicked in a three on one fight. Well I don’t remember much, but I didn’t have sore knuckles or elbows, so it was just a beat down. All I remember was getting kicked in the head thinking how impressive that was for such a short guy, seeing stars, and thinking, “No one ever messed with me when I went everywhere with my favorite pit-bull.”

5A90F7FF-4106-476D-9B80-C3B04FD44F0A.jpeg
This is LowCow, my old boss’s dog. I loved her and she loved me. We were best friends. I ran back to get her and then go back and get those guys, but she was gone. I don’t know what happened to her. When I came back alone, the guys who kicked my ass probably took my bike.

B125DB24-FA6A-4D83-8F86-0BB23F349DE1.jpeg
The guy on the left is Mike. He was born in Lao, but is American now. I’m the Frank Castle wannabe. I forgot the French dude’s name. I never saw him after that day. And my friend Sopha wearing the white hat is on the right.

BDD181B2-E42E-42E9-9A74-293E3AC5F88A.jpeg
I could say it was because my gears were a bit off on the bike, but the truth is we were all out of shape and walked up most of the hills.

BA413C38-D032-4C0A-ADC4-502FC723CA0A.jpeg
Not this guy and his $4,000 bike. We met him on the way. This guy was really cool and from Korea. We were all shocked to find out he was 57 and then felt bad he was in way better shape than all of us. He let me try his fancy bike and it felt amazing. It had shocks both on the front and the rear. The gears worked like a champ and it was super light. Going back to my bike felt like driving a BMW then going back to a Honda.

F5900293-4AAE-4535-8B6F-17F613699FE6.jpeg
This was the queen’s meditation spot two hundred years ago. I wanted to go for a swim, but my friend said the pond is both haunted and sacred and I’d have bad luck and maybe even drown if I did.

070964CC-10BA-4D9C-91E9-F656F04D9459.jpeg
The queen’s meditation spot from above.

3F6356D3-136A-4413-AC59-2E5B537DEFD9.jpeg
I like it when my students make fun of me and ask why I don’t have a six pack. I’ll either ask them why someone half my age doesn’t have one either or I’ll misquote Yoda and say, “When 40 years old you reach, look as good as me, you will not!”

CD6C5589-46BB-49B3-ACE0-4C79BFF57B19.jpeg
Speaking of Yoda, no wonder Lao people are so kind and happy. This country is so green and beautiful like Dagohbah. This picture doesn’t do justice to the beauty the jungle showed us that day.

FED9FC31-68E0-4A59-87D5-E3C5830FE24F.jpeg
It was so hot and felt so good to lay down in this stream.

3DE632B0-C84E-44ED-B9D9-927FEE02D4B5.jpeg
Trying to suck it in and chest out for this one.

8952AA11-6B62-4B70-A8D1-78E006791FCF.jpeg
My ex-wife’s name is Som so I had to get a picture of this sign and send it to her. This was about 25km away from where we started and it was getting dark. This little village had nothing and I don’t know why my friend wanted to ride so far to see it, but when I tell Lao people I rode a bicycle here they are impressed.

AFF098E3-CFAB-406F-9F08-2721CE654780.jpeg
With the sun about to go down we tried to get back, but it was too late. We had to ride in the dark for about 20km on a moonless night. My whole body was sore for like a week after this ride. Thanks for exploring the Lao jungle with us!

先生 เจ
Jeremiah Lee Custis

Personal Facebook Page:
https://Facebook.com/JeremiahCustis

Personal Youtube Channel:
https://www.Youtube.com/user/JeremiahCustis

Personal Blog:
https://Steemit.com/@JeremiahCustis

Language Blog:
https://Steemit.com/@TeachinThai

Solar for Siam NGO Facebook Page:
https://Facebook.com/SolarforSiam

Language Camp Facebook Page:
https://Facebook.com/LuangPrabangLanguageCamp

Let’s help science together!
https://App.Boid.com/u/CPU4Good

Gaming Facebook Page:
https://Facebook.com/ConversationGaming

Conversation Gaming Youtube Channel:
http://www.youtube.com/channel/UCkxwjbgN0Js4vM-tiSvVMIA

SplinterLands (My Favorite) Get in the Game!
https://steemmonsters.com?ref=jeremiahcustis

Instagram: https://Instagram.com/JeremiahCustis
Discord: 3438
Telegram: @JeremiahCustis
Skype ID: JeremiahCustis
Zoom ID: JeremiahCustis

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

It is really cool that you were able to get your bike back. Thanks for sharing about your adventure. Reminds me of some of nature I saw in Indonesia

@tipu curate

Thanks, after walking everywhere for months, I felt like Superman going all fast again. I don’t know why more people don’t ride bikes. It’s fun, you never need to go to the gym, never run out of gas, and cops never stop you. (Even if you’re drunk.)

Hi, @jeremiahcustis!

You just got a 0.44% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hello @jeremiahcustis, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

I used to bike all over Saigon. I lost some of my bikes. Then got new ones. But I didn't do any dirt biking. I didn't really go off road a lot. But then again, traffic can be like a jungle haha. All of this looks like a lot of fun. I do think about returning to Asia someday. So, that may happen. I did enjoy my five years out there. Some Americans could possibly learn a thing or two from Asians.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57544.06
ETH 2338.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35