Jay's Neglected Favourites #1 - Fading Away

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Hey fellow Steemers!

The recent SteemitPhotoChallenge experience had me looking back through my portfolio of both published and unpublished works, and doing so really brought home to me how many overlooked images are lurking sadly like unappreciated little wallflowers whilst my more popular creations hog the limelight...!

Over the next couple of weeks I'm going to spotlight some of my more neglected works, both here and elsewhere. I'm going to start with images and paintings I've never sold a copy (or the original) of, despite having put them out there in the public domain...

Some of these are serious personal favourites of mine, and it can't be right that they just don't get the attention I feel they deserve, poor neglected things ;)

I'm hoping to attract a little love for them, so here we go - 'Jay's Neglected Favourites' #1:

'Fading Away' by Jay Taylor​ - when minimalism gets busy...

fading_away374a3.jpg
Photo - 'Fading Away' by Jay Taylor

fading-away-detail-20b66c.jpg
Photo - 'Fading Away' by Jay Taylor - Detail Close-up #1

fading-away-detailcc8f8.jpg
Photo - 'Fading Away' by Jay Taylor - Detail Close-up #2

I absolutely love this image - it blows me away me every time I look at it, and I am amazed that it's never sold on any of the huge range of products it can be printed onto at redbubble.com - some of them just look fricking awesome to me! I don't know whether it's just too subtle for some peoples' tastes, but the amount of detail and incredible shapes in this 'accidental artwork' just blow me away. Just old whitewash fading off black-painted chipboard, with extra patterning provided by ivy growth which had died back at some point to leave its marks behind as an integral part of this wonder of entropy... The incredibly subtle colour shifts just amaze me - the most gorgeous blues and oranges are hiding in this at-first-glance simply 'black and white' image...I deliberately photographed it at an angle, as I wanted the sharpness at the centre to fade into softness at the top and bottom of the frame...It just adds an extra dimension to the 'fading' effect for me...And on that final note, I can also see many ghost-like faces in the patterns - do you see them too?

Hopefully someone out there will enjoy this one as much as I do - I love it even more now than I did the day I spotted and photographed it. Enjoy, fellow Steemers!

With love,

Jay

20160929_1518273d47b.jpg

Sort:  

So much to enjoy in these shots. The second one reminds me of cantaloupe rind. I am also a gardener so this stands out to me. I have also seen a frozen windshield that looks like no. 1. Such beauty to behold. Thanks for sharing.

Absolutely my pleasure, @everlove ❤ And yes - I see the canteloupe rind now! And the 'frozen' markings... This is one of the things I love most about sharing beauty found in unexpected places - it's fascinating to "see what others see"... seeing it again with fresh eyes! Awesome - thank you ❣

Love them all ~ Yes can see lots of faces ~ Reminding me of Egyptian sculptures. The first image, the first impression was that of a tribe of warriors in a line. Hadn't noticed the glints of blue and orange till reading ~ Now I wonder how I missed them.

Oh! I will look for them! Thank you for the lovely, supportive comments - all are very much appreciated, @allyinspirit ❤ I have just started following you, and look forward to reading your posts ❤

Really a pleasure Jay. Love work that suggests different things to the beholder. And these images are made all the more compelling because of that. Great to connect with you. Hope you don't mind me borrowing your heart? Love it. ❤

I don't mind in the slightest - I love it too! Spread that heart around :o) ❤❤❤

That's one of the things I enjoy about abstract art in particular, so very much - its chameleon-like ability to present different aspects of itself to the beholder... by its very nature it is 'freer' from constraints in many ways than more figurative work...

❤ xx

At first sight I thought It was artistic Chinese Calligraphy :)

...and now I can see that, too! :o) I love abstracts - so many things to see in one place, and always open to interpretation :o) Thanks for the new insight and the upvote :o)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51