Centipede — Scolopendra Subspinipes [6 Images Inside]

in #photography7 years ago

IMG_7398.jpg

Scolopendra Subspinipes

These are really nasty creatures, as creatures go. They are best left alone and when left alone they pretty much keep to themselves... But occasionally they will wander into houses, under the bed sheets and nibble on your toes in the night!

Luckily I have not been bitten by one but I've heard it is quite painful.

I found this one in the morning today already dead and took it home to do some modelling. Took me a while to actually handle it, even though it was dead.

We tend to be very frightened of them!

This is an aggressive and nervous arthropod which is ready to strike if interfered with and is sensitive to vibrations nearby. It preys primarily on insects or other predatory arthropods (like spiders), however, if it is large enough to overpower small vertebrates like mice or small reptiles, it will readily attempt to consume them as well. It tends to try to eat almost every living animal it encounters that is not longer than itself. It attacks its prey with the last prehensorial legs, then curves its head quickly behind to implant its venomous jaws deeply and firmly into the prey. The prey is held by the centipede's other legs until it dies from the fast-acting venom. During a fight, the centipede will use its entire body coiling the prey or enemy with its legs firmly attaching to the body of the opponent. Then, it will quickly penetrate its forcipules into the victim for venom injection.

(Wikipedia)

hard slit separator.png

IMG_7407.jpg

IMG_7395.jpg

IMG_7403.jpg

hard slit separator.png

Here she is with my monkey skull...

IMG_7419.jpg

IMG_7422.jpg

hard slit separator.png

Follow

Follow my photography Curation Trail using Streemian.com, and/or become a fan!

Please upvote and resteem this post!

Sort:  

I really want one of these!!! This would give someone a heart attack though.

When you say "Here she is with my monkey skull..." does that mean you have a pet centipede? If so what do you feed it? Great picture.

Nope not a pet, I found it dead and took it home :)

Hello @jamtaylor
Is that centipede is yours??
Can you have a fansign with it??
Thanks..

I found it dead and took it home to take photos.

Nice photo youve got there i thought its still alive..i have saome photos to share with you..i just used my phone.can you rate it..im a begginer at photography..frustrated photographer i am.https://steemit.com/pgotography/@iamkunaning/fairy-trees
Thank you.your comment and criticsm at my post will be highy appreciated..

This animal is very evil, but the color and shooting is very nice and beautiful@jamtaylor

i ve followed u, follow me back please. thank for visiting my wall

Thank you. I'm seeing different watermarks on the images on your page — are those photos that you have taken?

always nice to see new macro subjects , i expect it will be impossible to make those close ups on live species :)

what did you use to get this magnification ?

I wouldn't go near one of these when alive :)

100mm Macro with a Raynox 2.5x Magnification Filter... great little addition to a macro kit.

That looks like one beast of a centipede!

I hate these strange things of nature! In fact, i'm affraid of them!!!

When I was younger, that kind of thing came into my ear while I was asleep. Since then I hate them. And though I've grown up, I'm afraid of them!

Great shots. Spooky creature.

Lots of them in my garden! We have a Mediterranean climate. :)

For real how do you get these macros? I can not get mine to look like this.

Hmm, well.... For stuff like this, with little bugs, I use a tripod with a slide focus, I have a macro ring light on a 100mm lens with a 2.5x magnification filter on it. I shoot at the small aperture available, 32f, so that I can get as much in focus as possible... at that magnification the depth of field is extremely tiny so you need a small aperture to balance it out.. Even at 32f things get blurry pretty quickly.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64222.70
ETH 2651.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77