As Above, So Below — Woman with Long Hair and Dead Flowers

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

So I got together with a friend of mine to shoot some photos this weekend. I wanted muted warm tones and black and whites, which was mostly in the editing. The main idea was to do a kind of 'As Above So Below' type of image with balance. Wasn't really working out during the shoot but this is what came of that. My intention was to create an image with muted but warm tones with esoteric / ethereal vibes, sort of goddess-like.

It's not perfect but I'm fairly happy with, although it wasn't exactly what was in my mind when we started.


SM IMG_8172.jpg

Set up was pretty simple, one yellow model (constant) light camera left bouncing off the roof (mostly) and one on-camera flash set low. I don't have a lot of gear to be honest.


Decided to keep shooting while we were at it to get some other interesting pictures.

SM IMG_8223.jpg

SM IMG_8232.jpg

SM IMG_8254.jpg

SM IMG_8159.jpg

SM IMG_8153.jpg

Let me know what you think!

I don't take many photos of people but I'd like to start doing it more often. It helps if you have a lot of friends, and I don't!! :)

Sort:  

Bereh that nyan @jamtaylor, Brat ju bereh gamba yang ka posting, man maksud ngoen tujuan sagai yang Hana kutupeu iloeng

aleh peu-peu ka dipost le si @jamtaylor nyan bg hahaha

Post of the day.I hope this post will be in hot list.

Such a beautiful shots...Following you for more.
Please visit my profile, hope you will like my photography...@saan

This model has a nice eyes!

Interesting concept! Nice!

Nice pictures @jamtaylor - I like the theme and the colour tones you went for. I really like the blue tones in the penultimate two pics.

The first pic looks like she has different coloured eyes, a crazy trick with the light or is this a new blue dress/gold dress situation? Hehe.

Thank you! She has heterochromia but I made it much more pronounced in post because I felt it fit what I was going for. :)

Right, that's what I thought but in the other pictures her eye colours are the same which confused me, did you just colour match them? I think they look beautiful eh!

She has mild heterochromia so it is not as pronounced as what I made it, it's just a bit of extra coloring in one eye. It's just slight and probably easier to see in person rather than all the coloring dodging and burning that I did :)

I Like it and as photographer myself, some nice hdr edits and filters would make it pop too more but that is my style im talking about. very good tho, Be WEll

Feel free to do your edit on one and reply here so I can see what you mean :)

Oh yea good idea, i could do that. It will be something quick this time but alot of times i use lightroom to edit but not always.

image
Just a quick one not alot that i did but i think it looks good i love the bright blue eyes behind the dead rose very deep effect this photo has.

I think that... Someone is playing with lights! :) hahaha... love the atmosphere you gave to shoot 2. Excellent!

Thanks. Yep, I'm not accustomed to using lights.

I said in the best way.. I really liked that light setting form shoot 2. :)

I'm just pretty uncomfortable with it, I need some practice :)

Well you know... studio flashlights are a wonderful world... so beautiful as hard to learn indeed. Just a bottle of wine, some flashes (3 could be paradise) and practice. It's lovely. I remeber my first times... over six months, threee or four days a week shooting a Fashion Mannequin (the plastic one) studying light..with my beautiful flashes, so fascinating world! Just enjoy this...it seems that will look great!

Cool series Jam. My attention got attracted to the eyes of the model. Was it done in post production or sumo lighting consequence? She is very artistic, and you do not need a lot of gear if you are artistic. Enjoyed the shots, would love to see more. By the way BW conversion in editing went perfect ;) Cheers.

Thanks. Mostly done in post!

The final result is amazing even if it is not exactly what were You had in mind. Sometimes it is not possible to achieve the goal envisioned 😜

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34