You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unique beetle with the letter X

in #photography8 years ago

Suborder Heteroptera ("bugs") again.
In picture 5 you can see a proboscis pointing down to the leaf. Heteroptera suck plant juice (or a few of them the hemolymphe, "blood", of other insects).
"Beetles" (order Coleoptera) don't suck but instead bite with their mandibles (they don't have a long proboscis).
You can also recognize Heteroptera because at the back part of the abdomen their wings are not covered by elytra.

Sort:  

Your explanation is very full, thank you @jaki01

Thanks that you liked my explanation.
Actually I guess I should have used another word (English is not my mother tongue):
instead of "back part of the abdomen" I think "rear part of the abdomen" is correct. But I guess anyway you know what I wanted to say ...

Yes I understand your intentions

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57882.05
ETH 2579.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35