Life Lessons I Learned While Doing Photography (LLILWDP) - Part 2

in #photography6 years ago

Hello, my fellow Steemians! After such a long span of time, I am finally posting the 2nd part of Life Lessons I Learned While Doing Photography (LLILWDP). I am overwhelmed by the positive reactions you guys gave to the first part of this series. Thank you very much to everyone who upvoted, commented, and shared their life lessons as well. If you missed the first part of this series of posts click here --> LLILWDP Part 1.

Lesson 1: Make the most of everything
_DSC2248.jpg
Ramadan Adventure at Al Reem Island; My duty timings during the month of Ramadan are always in the evening until to the early mornings and then the travel time adds to it making us reach Abu Dhabi city at around past 3 to 4 AM. I planned my adventure and when we reached the city one day, I walked all the way to Al Reem Island found a good view of the iconic Gate Towers Building set-up my tripod and just stayed there for more than 3 hours until 7 in the morning just taking snaps after every few minutes.

Sometimes you will find yourself in situations that are less than ideal. What we do in these kinds of situations define who we are and I say make the most of everything. Yes, you might not like the situation and you are entitled to complain. Just don't stop at complaining. Think of ways to exploit the situation to your advantage and make the most out of everything.

Lesson 2: Always expect the unexpected
_DSC2185.jpg
An Epic Sunset Almost Missed; I came straight to the house one day as I was very tired and not wanting to go out again as the humidity that day was a killer. I was lucky that I glanced out of the kitchen's glass doors and saw the beautiful colors of the sunset. I left the food I was preparing and ran outside to the rooftop with my camera and took some pictures of one of the most epic sunsets I have ever seen.

One of the first lessons I learned at photography is that the best camera is the camera in your hands and that is why photographers always bring their cameras with them. The same goes for life, as you have to always be ready for anything. I am not telling you to worry needlessly about everything but just to prepare yourself. This will already make a big difference in the outcome.

Lesson 3: Nothing is "ordinary" only
Frames of Light.jpg
Roadside Golden Hour; I was looking for a cool landscape to photograph but the golden hour came while I am still at the roadside. So I set-up my tripod and exposed away until after the blue hour. The image above is a composite of 3 of those exposures combining the fiery red of the sunset, the deep blue of the sky after, and the bright artificial lights when true night came.

Don't allow yourself the excuse that you are just "ordinary" or you are just in an ordinary situation or ordinary place. Always remind yourself that there something special in each and every one of us and that something can affect the results of our passion. That's why you will see people that are very passionate about what they do are the ones producing the greatest results. Remember that you always have something special inside you and to let that affect your work.

Lesson 4: Better gear doesn't mean better results
_DSC1782.jpg
The Marina Eye Exposed for 4 Seconds; This photo is the result of my Nikon D3300 with the 18-55mm kit lens mounted on the free tripod that was part of the deal. I had a friend with me that time I shot this photo and their camera was a Fujifilm XT-10, a considerably better camera than mine, and if we shoot with the same settings then my results will definitely be inferior but by using techniques I learned and other gear such as tripod I was able to get results that are comparable to their camera.

The results of what you do depend more on your hard work and skills than on the tools you do it with. Some people make excuses that they have worse gear, that they couldn't get better results than others because their gear is inferior. Don't be one of these people.

Lesson 5: Don't ask people to smile. Do something to make them laugh
_DSC1169[BNW].jpg
My Dad Amusing Everyone; I captured this image of my dad making everybody in the tour group laugh. This is one of his traits that I love and try to emulate.

Telling people to be happy or wishing them to be happy does not help. You know what helps? When you actively try to make them happy. Just like in portraits you should not ask people to smile but you try to make them laugh.

As always, there is still a lot of lessons to be learned about photography and life as well. What do you guys think of these lessons? What is your current passion? Please feel free to share your life and photography lessons in the comments below as I want to learn from you also.

Sort:  

Thank you! Very nice shots!

Thank you.. 😊

wow nice shot sa Ferris wheel! ^_^

Thanks po.. 😊

Ang tyaga mag picture. But well worth the effort. The shots come out very nicely.

Thanks sis.. 😊 Mas hirap ako sa post processing kasi kinukuha ko pa yung flow na continuous..

WOW!! 😵
you're gifted brod!
Amazing shots and life lessons!!
You're able to connect Photography and life that gives us good vibes and definitely agree,,, Yeah, that's soo truee!! 😊😊

Thanks sis. I'm glad you liked the lessons and the photos. I hope the photos make the lessons more memorable. 😊

Yeaahh,, and it helped us internalize it moreee... 😊😊😊
See you tomorrow!! 😊😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64252.58
ETH 3495.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50