Life Lessons I Learned While Doing Photography - Part 1

in #photography7 years ago

DSLR photography came into my life unexpectedly. I have dabbled in point-and-shoot and phone photography but whenever my friends who own a DSLR suggested for me to also get one I would always say that there is no reason to get one as a phone camera will suffice. In the end, it took something special to get me to buy a DSLR. That story, however, is for another day.

Since I started learning DSLR photography I discovered that some photography lessons can also be life lessons. I am not saying that my list will be complete or correct as I am still learning both photography and life so here is the first part of that list and enjoy the pictures as well. :D

Lesson 1: Take your time
_DSC1752.jpg
9 PM Traffic; Getting home late from work but I did not hurry and instead I took the opportunity to do some long exposure photography.

Don't always be in such a hurry. Live life in each and every moment and don't let other people dictate your pace in life.

Lesson 2: Don't be afraid to try other paths
_DSC1180.jpg
Hidden View; After straying from the main road of Kalanggaman Island and going into an unkempt side path, my sister and I was rewarded with this view.

Just because it seems that everybody is using one path doesn't mean that there is no merit in the other roads. Yes, the other road may be more treacherous, or may take longer, or require more effort but it may be also that there is a beautiful view waiting for you, or a chance encounter with someone who will become important in your life.

Lesson 3: Appreciate the little details
_DSC1725.jpg
Orange Flower; I found this little gem on the side of the road while walking home.

We often overlook little details. We are always told to see the big picture but you must not forget to appreciate the little details. Yes, they are not that important in the outcome but that big picture is only possible because of the many little details making it.

Lesson 4: Focus on what is important to you
_DSC1222[focus on the waters].jpg
Focus on the Waters; I felt that the sky was overpowering the waters in this series of photographs I took on my last vacation so I turned it to black-and-white.

Life is full of distractions. You should learn to prioritize what is important to you. Sometimes you even need to block some things that are taking your focus away from what is important.

Lesson 5: Unguarded moments are precious
_DSC1303.jpg
Candid Behind the Curtain; My uncle was contemplating something while looking out the door and he didn't notice that I had my camera out of the bag and taking snaps of his unguarded moment.

All of us go outside to face the world with our defenses up. When someone lowers their guard in front of you that means that they trust you implicitly and you should treasure that moment.

And that's it for the first part of this series of blogs I plan to publish in the upcoming weeks, months, and possibly even years. There is still a lot to learn about photography and life as well. What do you guys think? What is your current passion? Has it taught you life lessons as well? I want to hear from all of you so that I can also learn or retain those lessons.

Sort:  

Photos are awesome.

Thank you. I hope the photos make the lessons more memorable. :D

A good story. Continue your article and looking forward to it.

Thank you. I will definitely continue this series. :D

Congratulations @jaizanthony! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @jaizanthony! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Wow!! Really great article... this really great...

Thank you, bro. I owe you for introducing me to this community. :D

Congratulations @jaizanthony! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good job
I like it
Plz vests n follow me @ mudatnad
T

Great photos man! Are the photos taken in the Philippines?

Thank you. Some of the photos were taken from Kalanggaman and Malapascua and the others were taken in Abu Dhabi. :D

Upvoted and Followed. I loved your pictures and advice. Please visit my profile and consider giving consider following me back if you like my posts. I'm still new here! @rebele93

Thank you. I am glad that you liked them. I definitely will. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40