A Yankee in Huntsville Alabama - Highlights From My Road Trips Though the American South

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I'm not just a Yankee. I might be the worst kind of Yankee by most standards. Born in the newest of Yorks, one of those Liberals that believes himself more 'middle of the road', and from a long line of - shall we say - uppity Black Folk. That is to say my family owned land, were well educated, and were from about as far south as our kind could be and still accomplish all they had. Virginia to be specific.

Now I'll say this right up front... Race is not a part of this story so you can keep reading without concern for my particular politic, but I thought it important to provide a little context. What this story is about is how I learned about the burden of “knowledge” and how sometimes - just sometimes - it might be better to forget than forgive.


YD5Z2741.jpgYou may click this or any image to see a larger version.

A few years ago, my wife and I registered for an industry conference in Atlanta, Georgia. It was our second year doing this conference and this year we chose to drive from Florida, where we live, so we could squeeze in a trip to visit a friend in Huntsville. After perusing the maps we decided it was best to stick to main roads, which meant we’d go from Atlanta all the way up to Chattanooga Tennessee and southwest into Alabama. Needless to say, this Yankee was NOT pleased by this idea, but my wife had her heart set on seeing this part of the country and what my wife’s heart wants, it gets - most of the time anyways.

the-road-to-huntsville.png

It was beautiful! The drive, the locals, the landscape… I was so nervous about this trip that we drove from Atlanta to the Tennessee state line without so much as a bathroom break. But when we finally did stop at a McDonald’s just over the state line I began to realize that the stress and anxiety I carried all this way wasn't the fault of these places. It was a burden I’d willfully placed on myself.

It was Sunday, late morning and my wife and I walked into a crowded McDonalds to find every employee was black and nearly every patron was white. A clear line in the sand to my mind and supporting evidence that all my concerns were well founded. So there I stood, on the wrong side of the counter, with clinched jaw and fists and my white wife, waiting for what was surely inevitable - and here it came…

A man and his wife ahead of us in line turned and gave us a look. “I always say we shouldn’t come after church because the line is so long,” he chuckled. A minute or two later my wife and I had become part of the standard McDonald’s post prayer platitudes I imagine everyone else in the place was accustomed to. This was the first in a chain of interactions that would make it clear to me that the heaviest bag I’d packed for this trip was the one in my mind. Somehow, I had opted to pack up all the ugliness I’d ever heard or read and bring it with me. I didn’t call it what it was. I called it caution or preparedness. I may have even called it safety, but all it really was was a giant, heavy sack of fear, and I knew that if I kept carrying it I would ruin this entire trip for my wife. So I resolved to lose my baggage before I sent foot in Huntsville so that I might see the place instead of my miserable expectations of it. And that I did…

YD5Z2792.jpg

The Central Florida aesthetic is all palm trees and giant oaks with a deliberate smattering of crepe myrtles for color. Huntsville is oaks and dogwoods and cherry trees and so much more.

YD5Z2714.jpg

YD5Z2736.jpg

YD5Z2739.jpg

It’s a city where engineers live next to magicians, where brains and brawn are the same thing, and where stories have carbs - lots of them.

YD5Z2825.jpg

I’ve seen so many Southern Cities sacrifice their futures to preserve the past but Huntsville isn’t one of them. It embraces both with equal vigor so it has collected many pasts. From original train stations to Apollo Rockets, Huntsville’s take on history seems to be that there’s lots more to make, and it’s that sense of perpetual motion that made it so easy for me to fall in love with it. As odd as it probably sounds, it’s a lot like New York in that way.

YD5Z2788.jpg

YD5Z2783.jpg

YD5Z2778.jpg

YD5Z2776.jpg

YD5Z2835.jpg

But my wife and I's love of this place would be set in stone when we met The Duck Man.

We took a seat in a park after walking the city for a time. The feet needed a break, or maybe it was divine intervention?
There we sat at the pond when up he strolled with his companion.

YD5Z2742.jpg

"Look! That duck isn't crossing. He's walking like people," we laughed and watched these two march along with purpose. But as they continued it became clear that they weren't walking similar paths independently. These two were together!

We had to know the story of these two, so my wife approached the man while I continued snapping photos.

YD5Z2754.jpg

The Duck waited for his Human but it was clear he was on a schedule. One he intended to keep.

In the few moments the duck would allow, my wife was able to navigate a language barrier just enough to learn that The Duck Man had immigrated from Lebanon, was very happy in Huntsville, and that he was very much the Duck's pet. They'd lived together in his flat for years.

While I continued snapping away the Duck Man suddenly broke from his conversation with my wife. A look of great concern set on his face as he began to plead with the Duck who was now only inches from me. I'd assumed he'd taken an interest in me. It turned out his patience for this unplanned stop had all but run out. The Duck Man was trying to convince the Duck not to kick my ass!

YD5Z2763.jpg

Fortunately for me the Duck agreed but only on the condition that they bid us farewell and get back to the business of their day, which they did...

YD5Z2766.jpg

I often ask myself how different this trip could have been if I'd chosen to keep that hateful baggage. Would I have been so willing to walk the city or drive the countryside? Would we have stopped to talk to the Duck Man or made it to the park at all? And even if we had, would I have been capable of seeing all that beauty?

I can't say for sure. But I can say that I enjoyed this trip. A trip I dreaded when we set out.


Photos: Jon Hardison | Rights reserved.

Sort:  

This was a really lovely piece Jon! Happy you and the wife had a nice time and happy you shared these beautiful photos.

Thank you so much! That means a lot coming from an actual writer. :-)

It looks like you are enjoying this road trip alot... the photos are really awesome... great work dear..

Thanx a bunch for the visit and kind words! :-)

you welcome :)

Cool post @j-o-n. I love your photos. As one of the editors for @steemitworldmap’s daily #traveldigest, I would love to see this post pop up on http://steemitworldmap.com. If you're interested, simply go to the website, search for your location, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post (not the comments) to have it show up on steemit worldmap. There’s also a FAQ section if you get a bit lost.
You can find out about the project here:
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

Wow! Well look at that! That's a pretty great idea. I went ahead and added it to the map - easy enough. :-)
Thank you for the kind words and letting me know this existed! Very, very cool.

In digging around the map I'd noticed that there's a post in Montgomery, AL. Strange thing is that the post is actually about a place called Seaside which is located on the Northern Gulf Coast of Florida. LOL!

Not sure how you guys mitigate those sorts of user errors but I figured I should let you know.

We can't move anything. If that's where someone has pinned it, that's where it will stay unless they move it. I think some people do pin to where they are, not to where the post is about, so it could be that. I'll mention it to @martibis though. Perhaps we can put something in the instructions.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=j-o-n
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-yankee-in-huntsville-alabama-highlights-from-my-road-trips-though-the-american-south


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

Congratulations @j-o-n! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45