Day 1 - My Morning | 7 Day Black and White Photo Challenge

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

I wake up to the sound of the security alarm beeping at regular intervals, and it takes me a few seconds before I realize that the electricity has gone off for a second time this week. I stretch my hand to grab my phone, which is lying on the floor next to my bed; it's nearing 7 in the morning. I put it back down and look at the curtains in front of me; are they moving, or am I imagining? It's cold in the room, so maybe the cool autumn air is permeating my home somehow.

Getting out of the bed takes another 10 minutes. Getting out of bed takes me another 5 minutes. Hot coffee is everything that I crave for at this moment but the very next "beep" reminds me that no coffee can be made right now. I dress up quickly and pull the curtains aside. To the left where the sun is about to rise, the two concrete communist blocks are still dark with only their windows reflecting the first light of the day.

P1110739_2.jpg

Then I look to the right where Vitosha mountain greets me with all its majesty. I stare at it for a minute before I decide to open the window and get out on the balcony. Cold but fresh air touches my cheeks, and I instantly hear the sounds of birds singing. What a peaceful moment! I go back inside to get my camera ready. The beeping has stopped, which means that the power is back on. It's time for a nice cup of coffee while shooting a video.

That's how my day today started.
How did your day start today?

About the challenge
I was nominated by @allyinspirit to participate in @johleen's "7 Day Black and White Photo Challenge", and that was my first post. I cannot promise that I will finish the challenge within 1 week but I will try to do so.

7 black & white images that represent an aspect of your life. | Present one image every day for 7 days. | No people. | No explanation | Nominate someone every day. Although anyone can join in. | Use the tag #sevendaybnwchallenge as one of your five tags.

My first nomination for the challenge is @countrygirl

Yours,
Dan

Sort:  

Nice photos and view.

Thanks a lot, Mike! :)

Lovely B&W. My day started with coffee too, the highlight of the morning and walking my dog on a cool dry fall day.

Thank you! The thought of a warm cup of coffee makes it easier for me to wake up and get out of bed :) What kind of dog do you have?

Well...what a view! I could get used to this view..in fact, I would wake up early in the morning just to see this every day!

My day started with a smile ( * gasp * I know..Ema ..smiling?!??!) and some wacky ideas in my head! :)

It's breathtaking. I do wake up earlier in the morning sometimes - just to see it :)

What made you smile?

My cat decided to spoon with me during the night she stayed like that until we both woke up :) 😸

Hey, would you like to participate in this B&W challenge? :)

I enjoyed watching the video - I've been trained in "mindfulness meditation" so it was a pleasure to watch the clouds roll by the mountain and hear the bird sounds - the music was pleasant and not distracting.

The beginning of your day sounded like something I'd see on a sitcom! Although waking up to the sound of an alarm is stress inducing - big time for me anyway. No coffee....no electricity??? eeeeee.....that would not be fun.

You wrote this post very well. The apartment blocks look very oppressive....you captured that well.

Oppressive is a good word to describe communist architecture, and there are unfortunately quite a lot of these apartment blocks in Bulgaria. There are also some bizzare brutalist monuments (Buzludzha for example) that I do like though :)

I am glad that you enjoyed the story and the video 😊

Would you like to participate in this challenge @countrygirl? :)

Sure, that would give me a purpose for 7 days. Do the photos have to be taken fresh or can they be, say an old black and white photo from my past?

Great! Well, I don't know, to be honest, but as the purpose is to challenge yourself, it would be better if you take fresh photos :)

okay...I'll give it a go..thanks @irreverent-dan!

Fantastic! I am following with interest :)

Stating the obvious, but your early morning balcony views are so different to each other. So you could choose between what's happening in the 'world' down there or do I have a few moments to immerse myself in cloud gazing over Vitosha mountain, and remember to breathe as I drink my morning coffee.

LOVED the video Daniel: A perfect immovable mountain to contrast the moving clouds with. Resteemed. 🦋

They are indeed, and I usually prefer to gaze at the mountain and the clouds that are surrounding it. It clears my thoughts and makes me feel energized.

Thank you Ally, I appreciate it!

😊 ⚖️ Pleasure ⚖️😊

Wow Your balcony has a nice view, what a peaceful scenery!

Thank you man, it if wasn't for the view, I wouldn't have rented this apartment :D

That is some gorgeous footage dude.

Cheers, Chrissy! :)

Congratz, your post has been read, approved and resteemed by a human!
pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 11 October 2017! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 6.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @irreverent-dan
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @irreverent-dan to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!
For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62690.68
ETH 2463.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62