You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "You Never Take A Bad Picture!!"

in #photography5 years ago

my look is balancing on that fine line between heroin chic and an arrest photo, it’s a split second difference

:D
!ENGAGE 40

Maybe they would work to illustrate a story of a crack addict hooker, I’ll give you that.

:D It's a good thing that we can agree on this one.

Perfect pictures are perfect and fine and beautiful and interesting and pleasing on the eye and all that. And they also may tell a story. If a photographer is looking for a glam or a pin up photo then that's what it is. And should be. But to take a photo that instantly gives the viewer also a story about what is going on, what has happened or who the character (in this case) is in this photo, is pure magic. And although the photo might not be perfectly framed or there's too much stuff, it's more realistic and tells a story. And I love stories that just pop in to my head because of an interesting photo. Just like people watching in the streets.

Sort:  

I think your taste for entertainment might be a little twisted, but who am I to judge!

I do understand that you (or anyone else for that matter) will view my images way differently than I do myself. It’s my ego that clouds the reality. If I take pictures of other people, I’m way more leniant and I don’t want to take just a ”pretty” picture, but an interesting one.

I think it was Annie Leibovitz who said she doesn’t agree with the notion that the subject of the photo should be made comfortable in front of the camera, and I agree. Just not when I’m the subject 😅

I think it was Annie Leibovitz who said she doesn’t agree with the notion that the subject of the photo should be made comfortable in front of the camera, and I agree. Just not when I’m the subject

Yeah, never would want those photos to be published where I think my face looks like crap. So yes, I do understand you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60565.41
ETH 2347.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47