Brute Architecture of Finland - Part 2

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

IMG_9177_1.jpg
Photo: CC BY-SA gallery.insaneworks.fi
Camera: Canon EOS 550D - Shutter Speed: 1/640 sec - Aperture: f/5 - ISO Sensitivity: 100

It's a box. A cube. A green cube.

This is part of a building called Kauppa-Häme in streets Kauppakatu 3 and through to the other side, Hämeenkatu 16. It was built in 1965, architect Aarne Ervin. On the same property, is the Tampere City Hall, built in 1890.

City hall used to have wings that were built in the 19th Century. Two-storey city prison and volunteer fire department on the Hämeenkatu side and three-storey police station, previously city hotel, on the Kauppakatu side were demolished in the 1960's. City hall's future was on the stake at that time too, but fortunately was spared.

Here you can see an old photo of the volunteer fire department taken 1893.

And here's an old photo or the same building before taking down. Photographed January 27th 1964.

Here's an old photograph, taken July 23rd 1931 of the exact same street where I was standing when I photographed the green cube 87 years later. And here's a second one taken a little bit further.

And finally two photographs taken 1964 after the demolish.

This green monster, the Hulk of Tampere, was built because someone thought it is more efficient and cheaper and better than the restauration of old buildings.

It is a green cube.

Me not like.

IMG_9179_1.jpg
Photo: CC BY-SA gallery.insaneworks.fi
Camera: Canon EOS 550D - Shutter Speed: 1/400 sec - Aperture: f/4.5 - ISO Sensitivity: 100

Brute Architecture of Finland
Part 1


Paying It Forward
https://steempeak.com/payitforward/@insaneworks/pay-it-forward-small-sp-delegation-here

Part of my Paying it forward project (Oh, it turned out into a project now!) is to do as much as I can to accounts that have less SP and RC than I have. (Obviously not all, only few chosen ones.) Delegate SP for a limited time, upvote them and also promote those accounts on my blog posts. I also try to have time to comment more, not just upvote as commenting is better for me also. For my own growth.

Go and check out @cutthruyou and his Inktober posts! :)

Sort:  

What an inspiring cube! I felt inspired!


Fishyyyyy_2_2_1.jpg
by @eccles, with model modified from Michael Carey, texture modified from @insaneworks Photo (CC BY-SA 4.0)

Green for the Green Cube! I'll post it to the blog later, now that everything's fixed.

Edit:

Original, unlicensed bootleg
Texture used with permission @insaneworks, clipart used with permission from Microsoft

You could have done a blog post about this. Unless of course you wan't to write only about certain kind of topics and this isn't it. :)

But if you do a post, you could call it chain art! You know, like a chain letter but only the positive things that a chain letter has. No obligatory money sending or pyramid schemes. :D Just the CC license mention and a link to the original (previous) art and a mention that anyone who follows the rules of the license, can join. And a certain tag of course. If chainart isn't taken already, that one. :)

I would join immediately!

Well, not immediately, I would have to continue the chain art first and do a blog post about it, but you know what I mean. :)

Hm, I have little "art projects" and scribbles here and there, but I've not though of posting them to my feed. I'm learning a bit about 3d modelling and image editing as a hobby, so the little things I do along the way are like goalposts.

Perhaps I should post it in the feed as an inspirational reminder to myself, if nobody else :) .

That said there was a bit of an issue with the image I posted above -- the stock 3d model I used in it comes from Microsoft's 3D Paint and their rather loose custom licence might not be comparable with CC BY-SA 4.0, or even CC anything. I went out and found a decent replacement that fits the proper licence and remade the image. I wonder if I should just edit that comment to delete the original?

Perhaps I should post it in the feed as an inspirational reminder to myself, if nobody else :) .

You should! You can make Steemit and your blog bend to your means and use it how you like, whenever you like. You can make your blog be a reminder to yourself, bounce ideas in it or post unfinished work when you want to distance yourself from your work for a bit or let us see the process.

I wonder if I should just edit that comment to delete the original?

If it looks different, then I would post the new in to a new comment or a blog post. So that it can be compared with the old one. I think that could be a good blog post topic. Comparing different methods and programs in which you did the almost similar picture. But if it looks exactly the same, I would edit the old comment.

Hey! This looks great! I got an idea, but I have to get back to you with it. So later! I'll be back. :)

The only thing I like is the colour!

Posted using Partiko Android

I hear you! :D

Here's some greeeeeen for you. :)

somegreen.jpg

Yeeeeeeeah!!!!! Hahahahah

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @insaneworks! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @insaneworks! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83